• Buenaventura wins Rapid Chess tilt


    Filipino Grandmaster Villamayor Buenaventura went undefeated in seven games to rule the 2016 Singapore Open Rapid Chess Tournament held at the Siglap South Community Center in Singapore.

    Buenaventura outclassed Alfred Chua Xue Kai of Singapore in the first round, Kumar Rajat of India in the second round, Tang Meng Wei of Singapore in the third round, Filipinos Leonard Raymond Reyes in the fourth round and Edgar Reggie Olay in the fifth round, and Singaporeans Cyrus Nisban in the sixth round and Matthew Ende Lau in the final round.

    Olay completed a 1-2 punch for the Philippines as he finished second with six points on six wins.

    He defeated Singaporeans Nicholas Lee Rui Zhe (first) and Lau (third); Rajat (seventh); and Filipinos Eric Laforteza Lalas (second), Christopher Diaz (fourth) and Reyes (sixth).

    Nisban and Joshua Juaneza shared the third spot with 5.5 points apiece while Lau and Diaz occupied the fifth position with five points each.

    Reyes, Rajat, Chua Xue Kai, Lalas and Singaporean Sean Christian Goh are in a group of 4.5-points.

    The other Filipinos in the tournament sanctioned by the International Chess Federation were Ceferino Borromeo Jr. (3.5), Reynaldo Obina (3.5), Franco Romeo Demiar (3.5), Richard Angeles (3.5), Henry Ypil (3.0) and Jer Umadhay (3.0).

    Ern Danelle Tan Li of Singapore bagged the top honors with a perfect seven-point showing.


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.