• BVR circuit rolls off Jan 30


    Eight teams will see action in the inaugural staging of the Beach Volleyball Republic (BVR) circuit on January 30 at Cabugao Beach Resort in Ilocos Sur.

    Former University Athletic Association of the Philippines Most Valuable Player Abigail “Aby” Maraño will try her luck in beach volleyball according to BVR co-founder Bea Tan.

    “I want to explore my talent in volleyball. Now that I have a chance to play beach volleyball, why not?,” the 23-year old Maraño said during the weekly Philippine Sportswriters Association forum on Tuesday in Malate.

    Maraño was a member of Petron Blaze that finished second in the Philippine Superliga Grand Prix and Philippine Army that also finished as runner-up in the Shakey’s V-League Open Conference.

    “This is a good training for me especially on defense. Because beach volleyball is played between two teams of two players, it will enhance your intellectual capacity on how to score points not just power hitting every time,” Maraño added.

    Also joining the tourney are the teams of Alexa Micek and Charo Soriano, Judy Caballejo and Gena Andaya, April Ross Hingpit and Patty Orendain, Kiara Aira Pineza and Jessica Paron, Nene Bautista and Jovelyn Gonzaga, Jessa Aranda and Pricilla Gail Catacutan, as well as Mich Morente and Jonafer San Pedro.

    Besides Tan, the other founders of BVR are Soriano, Angeline Gervacio, Gretchen Ho and Fille Cainglet-Cayetano.

    “We are seeing a tougher competition since we are having new teams and tandems like, the Army team which is famous for their skill in beach volleyball,” said Gervacio.

    The group aims to promote beach volleyball in the country through tournaments and skills clinics.

    “Our main goal is to augment and develop the sport, provide avenue for athletes to develop their skills and promote sports tourism in the country through beach volleyball. We want to build a community that is united through one goal sharing the same path for growth and development,” Tan added.

    After the Ilocos Sur leg, the circuit will go to San Juan, La Union on February 13 to 14 for an exhibition game followed by the second leg of the tournament at Anguib Beach in Santa Ana, Cagayan on February 20 to 21. Lakawon Island, Negros Occidental will host the tilt on March 19 to 20 before it goes to Dapitan and Clark, Pampanga on April 16 to 17.


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.