BVR national meet fires off Thursday


All eyes will be on Charo Soriano, Dzi Gervacio and Bea Tan when the Beach Volleyball Republic (BVR) on Tour National Championship unfolds on May 26 at the Sands SM by the Bay in Pasay City.

Soriano, a former Ateneo De Manila University volleyball star, will be teaming up with Filipino-American Alex Micek, hoping to sustain their winning run in the BVR Tour.

“We wish to continue to manifest the game of beach volleyball in many more islands in the Philippines in the succeeding tourneys,” the 30-year-old Soriano said during a news conference on Tuesday at Lola’s Café in Scout Lozano in Quezon City.

Soriano said that all 16 teams are bent on challenging them.

“I guess we’re the team to beat. It is a good feeling that we talked with other players and they make you an inspiration,” she said. “They really wanted to beat us. For me, that is the best thing you can really have.”

“It gives us a chance to discover and promote the unique beauty of the places we go to. For this tour, BVR has gone to places such as Boracay, La Union, Negros Occidental, and Cagayan,” Tan added.

Soriano and Micek, the tournament’s top seed, captured the four titles in the seven-leg tour. They ruled in San Juan, La Union, Anguib in Cagayan, Baya­wan in Negros Oriental, and in Boracay.

They will play in Pool A against Jennifer Cosas and Floremej Rodriguez, twins Nieza Viray and Jeziela Viray of San Beda and the international tandem of Tatiana Sablan of Hawaii and Ivee Ilao of Guam.

Judy Ann Caballejo and Anna Abanto of University of Santo Tomas are in Pool B along with Dhannylane Demontano and Jackielyn Estoquia of Iloilo, Rhea Fermilan and Javen Sabas of Polytechnic University of the Philippines and Therese Ramas and Janelle Cabahug of Cebu.

Playing in Pool C are Jonafer San Pedro and Jessa Aranda of Rizal Technological University, Lakawon Island Negros Occidental winners Bea Tan and Fiola Ceballos, Cherilyn Sindayen and Rainne Fabay of Lyceum, and Lourdilyn Catubag and Karen Quilario of University of Mindanao.

Gervacio and partner Michelle Morente are in Pool D together with Apple Saraum and Jusabelle Brillo of Cebu, Isa Molde and Diana Carlos of University of the Philippines, and Bernadeth Pons and Kyla Atienza of Far Eastern University.

All teams will face each other in a round robin format. The top two teams will play against each other in a crossover quarterfinals before the top teams in each pool clash in the semifinals.

The winner of the national championship will receive a P100,000 prize while the runner up will take home P70,000. The third placer and the fourth placer will earn P40,000 and P20,000, respectively.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.