Cagayan police tags 38 poll hotspot towns


CABARROGUIS, Quirino: At least 38 towns in the Cagayan Valley region have been placed by the Philippine National Police (PNP) as areas of election concern this coming barangay polls.

Police Sr. Insp. Jovelyn Banares, Region 2 public information officer, said the towns were included in the PNP election watch list as areas of concern, some have been declared immediate and grave areas of concern.

Banares said Isabela province has 19 areas of election concern which included the towns of Alicia, Angadanan, Aurora, Burgos, Cabatuan, Cordon, Delfin Albano, Echague, Gamu, Luna, Naguilian, Palanan, Ramon, Roxas, San Agustin, San Mateo, San Pablo, Santa Maria and Santo Tomas.

On October 19, a village councilman, Rolly Lauria of Barangay Furao in Gamu, seeking reelection was shot dead at a wedding reception at dawn.

Isabela police director Sr. Supt. Sotero Ramos Jr. said Lauria died from a gunshot to the head; he was urinating near where he and his friends were having drinks when he was shot.

In Cagayan province, the towns of Buguey, Enrile, Pamplona, Gattaran, Solana, Tuao and Tuguegarao City were also placed under areas of concern in the police watch list this coming barangay elections.

Police said the towns of Aritao and Solano in the province of Nueva Vizcaya and Diffun town in Quirino were also included as areas of concern in the election watch list.

Meanwhile, there are nine towns in the region, which were placed under “immediate concern” this coming elections which the police identified as the towns of Gonzaga in Cagayan and the towns of Benito Soliven, Echague, Gamu, Ilagan, Jones, San Agustin, San Guilermo and San Mariano in the province of Isabela.

Also, the PNP has declared as election area of “grave concern” the town of Maconacon in Isabela.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.