• CAR to get P1.024-B for tourism road infra


    BAGUIO CITY—The Cordillera Administrative Region (CAR) is set to get this year a whopping P1.024 billion for road infrastructure projects to provide easy access to identified tourist destinations.

    Department of Public Works and Highways (DPWH) Regional Director Edilberto Carabbacan said the approved projects under the Department of Tourism (DOT) -DPWH convergence program this year are concentrated in four areas.

    He said P15.28 million will go to Baguio City for the upgrading (from gravel to concrete) of roads around Burnham Park including Juan Luna Drive and two-lane drive roads.

    For Baguio City, included are the upgrading (from gravel to concrete) of roads around Burnham Park with P15.28 million funding.

    For Benguet, the P336.051M worth of approved projects include roads leading to Mt. Pulag, Bulalacao Lakes and Mt. Tabeo in Kabayan; Mt. Kalugong, Stone Church, Bahong Rose Gardens and Strawberry Fields in La Trinidad, and Timbak Caves and Mummy Anno in the municipality of Atok.

    For Ifugao, P332.308 million will be for roads leading to the Julongan Rice Terraces, Villages, Museum and World War II Shrine in Kiangan; to Nahtoban Cave and the trail going to Bintakan Cave in Lagawe; a road leading to the Batad and Banaue Rice terraces in Banaue, and to O’phaw Mechancha Waterfalls in the municipality of Mayoyao.

    Mt. Province will get P340 million for roads leading to Sumaguing Cave, Hanging Coffins, Bokong Falls, Marcos Cave, Sagada Cave, Burial Caves in Sagada; rice terraces and water falls in Bontoc as well as to other tourism sites in Abatan, Bauko.

    DOT Regional Director Purificacion Molintas said the DOT-DPWH convergence project is in line with the National Tourism Development Plan and aims to improve the access and mobility of local residents and foreign tourists.

    She said DOT also has a convergence program with the Department of Transportation and Communication involving upgrading of airports for both international and domestic flights.

    Molintas said that at present there are 10 priority airports under the said convergence program, which includes the Laoag International Airport, an air access that leads to North Luzon tourism sites including the Cordilleras.


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.