Carlos tops 2015 PGT Q-School


Jobim Carlos sizzled at the finish and fired a five-under 67 to edge fellow top amateur Justin Quiban by one and rule the 2015 Philippine Golf Tour Qualifying School at Eagle Ridge’s Aoki course in Gen. Trias, Cavite recently.

Carlos, a member of the national team that captured the Putra Cup last year, gunned down five birdies at the back, including the last two holes for a 31 and a 67 as he totaled a 290 after the 72-hole elims along local amateurs and pros that staked 50 slots to next year’s ICTSI PGT season.

Quiban, who anchored Manila Southwoods’ runaway triumph in the recent Fil-Am Invitational Golf Championship in Baguio, matched par 72 in the final day and shared runner-up honors with veteran Jomar Pepito, who carded a 73, at 291.

Raymund Gonzales, another amateur, placed fourth with a 294 after a 76 while Johvanie Abaño, the PGT Q-School topnotcher in 2012, regained his tour card by finishing fifth at 295 after a 75 while Richard Sinfuego, shooting a 70, and Ramil Bisera, turning in a 72, finished tied for sixth with amateur Tonlits Asistio, who ended up with a 74, at 288.

Gerald Rosales likewise regained his card despite a closing 79 as he finished ninth at 299 followed by the troika of Solomon Gines, Erwin Vinluan and Danny Zarate, who shot a 73, 74 and 81, respectively, for 301s.

Forty others made it to next year’s circuit where they will join the top 40 players in this year’s ICTSI PGT Order of Merit ranking, topped by three-time OOM winner Tony Lascuna with Miguel Tabuena, Elmer Salvador, Charles Hong and Mars Pucay taking the next fourth spots.

Meanwhile, the Q-School for foreign players will be held Feb. 2-6, also at the Aoki layout. Listup is ongoing with deadline set on Jan. 30, 2015. Entry fee is pegged at P10,000 with payments can be made through Banco de Oro (Carmen Planas branch) and Pilipinas Golf Tournaments, Inc. (account name) with account number of 4110-0254-70. Listup can also be made through the PGT office at 0915-782-4751.

Other notables who regained their cards were Artemio Murakami, Jun Bernis, Rodrigo Cuello, Chris delos Santos, Albin Engino, Cookie La’O, John Kier Abdon, Peter Minoza, Edwin Estrera, Miko Alejandro, Reymon Jaraula amd Dino Villanueva.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.