• Castillo, Cadiz establish big leads in Touge races

    Chris Cadiz and his Toyota Echo lead the Economy class of the 2016 Touge Battle series. CONTRIBUTED PHOTO

    Chris Cadiz and his Toyota Echo lead the Economy class of the 2016 Touge Battle series. CONTRIBUTED PHOTO

    With three legs and half the season already in the books, Hernel Castillo and Chris Cadiz lead the race for the 2016 Touge Battle championships in their respective classes.

    Cadiz, one of the autocross regulars who recently joined Touge Battle, showed of his skills and tenacity by pushing his humble Toyota Echo and earning 50 points to lead his class. Venet Felisco with 43 points is a close second followed by Mars Delos Reyes in third with 37 points.

    “At this stage of the season, it’s still anyone’s race in the Economy class,” said Touge Battle series organizer EZ Ligaya.

    Marbel Bayombong of Staunch Performance has a slight lead over Leonard Cristobal in the Regular class. With both drivers running only two races each, Bayomboing leads Cristobal by five points only. Coming in third place is Michael Pasumbal who is expected to make some ground on the two leaders in the next two races to be held at the Batangas Circuit in Rosario, Batangas.

    The Premium class currently has a three-way tie between Brennan Lim, Felix Perez and Jam Jimenez each with 25 points. All of them only raced once.

    Ligaya said they must race one more time to decide who will be the champion among them.

    “Drivers must compete at least in two races to be eligible for the championship race,” he added.

    The legendary Castillo is the other dominant driver in the 2016 series having dominated the Turbo+ class by winning every race and compiling 75 points with his Subaru Impreza. His closest rival is newbie Angelo Elinon who is 45 points behind.

    Two expats are also taking part in the 2016 season.

    American Greg Wood leads the Race 2 class with 43 points after competing in two races while Australian Shane Henderson leads the Race Open class with a total of 42 points. Henderson, however, must stay ahead of autocross champion Danby Yaptinchay who is trailing by only five points with a total of 37.

    Anglelo Elinon also leads the race for the Newbie class for the 2016 season.

    Touge Battle is organized by Aggressive Line Events and is supported by Autoperformance PH, Vic dealer of Achilles Radial, 2ner Magazine, C! Magazine, Dreamsmed, Inflatable Factory, Legit Manila, Prima Coffee, Rally Parts, Studio 21 creatives, Sushi Factory, Turbo Time, Time Attack Manila and Bridgestone Alabang.



    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.