Castillo, Cadiz take Touge Battle class titles


Hernell Castillo, as expected, emerged the overall champion in the Turbo+ Class of the 2016 Touge Battle series after he swept the races of the final or sixth round held last weekend at the Clark International Speedway in Pampanga.

Chris Cadiz was also crowned the Economy Class champion even if he chose to compete in another race class in the final round that hosted the biggest batch of race participants.
“The final race was also the biggest race of the year having a total of 41 registered participants,” said Touge Battle organizer EZ Ligaya.

It was business as usual in the Turbo+ class with Castillo dominating everyone again. Angelo Elinon came in second while Peter Gaw came in third. Kevin Sugden did not race because of some technical issues but finished third overall in the Turbo+ class.
In addition to taking the Turbo+ class title, Castillo set the fastest lap of the day with 1:09.09 (minutes).

Meanwhile, Race 3 class was where Economy class champion Chris Cadiz decided to race for the day. Although going up against Martin Alexander and Rommel Guevarra who both used lightened and race-prepared cars, Cadiz rose to the top by maintaining a faster lap time and grabbing first place at the finish line. Martin Alexander finished second while Rommel Guevarra took third.

By winning Race 3 class, Cadiz demonstrated how a stock car like a Toyota Vios with a highly-skilled driver can beat race-prepared cars.

With Cadiz skipping the Economy class, Daniel Leonardo dominated against Gilbert Orpilla who ended up second. Mars Delos Reyes took third in his Vios.

In the Regular class, Leonard Cristobal in his Honda Civic EF left everyone behind. Coming in a close second was Jam Jimenez in his 1990s Subaru Legacy ahead of John Cardena in a lighter Honda Civic in third place. Cristobal finished second overall in the class behind Michael Pasumbal. Jam Jimenez was able to overtake Marbel Bayombong in the championship race and finished third overall in the Regular class.

In the Premium class, Moses Dumaguing came out on top against one of the country’s best drivers in Drift Champion David Feliciano who came in second while Brennan Lim got third place. Lim sealed his second place finish in the overall standings behind Felix Perez in first. Feliciano took third overall.

Race 2 turned out to be a family celebration as Russ Agapito led the way ahead of cousin MC Agapito taking. Armer Garcia finished third.

Christian Ho was awarded first place in the newbie division followed by Russ Agapito in second and Elinon in third. Ho also grabbed the Touge King award for the day.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.