• Castrillo, Barreto named 2013 PSA Junior Athletes of the Year


    IN keeping with its tradition of recognizing young, promising talent, the Philippine Sportswriters Association (PSA) will be having a Milo Junior Athletes of the Year honorees for the second straight time during its Annual Awards Night set on Saturday.

    Bemedalled swimmers Regina Erin Castrillo and Rafael Barreto earn the distinction of being the recipients of the special award to be given out on the night Philippine sports heroes of 2013 gather together in a formal rite at the Centennial Hall of the Manila Hotel.

    The two made a name for themselves in last year’s Palarong Pambansa in Dumaguete City where they won seven gold medals each, with Castrillo breaking four meet records for the National Capital Region, and Barreto registering three new Palaro marks.

    Inaugural National Marathon winner Numeriano Titong will also be given special recognition.

    Now a golf caddy at Veterans Golf and Country Club, Titong ruled the first-ever staging of the longest running footrace in the country held in 1974.

    Popular broadcaster and sports columnist Quinito Hen–son and Patricia Bermudez-Hizon will be hosting the event that starts at 7:30 p.m.

    Gilas Pilipinas is on top of the long list of awardees—123 in all —to be honored.

    The national men’s basketball team is the recipient of the 2013 PSA Athlete of the Year award for its inspiring and improbable runner up finish in the FIBA-Asia Men’s Championship that earned for the country a berth to the FIBA-World Cup for the first time in four decades.


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.