• Ceballos, Tan win BVR Championship


    Fiola Ceballos and veteran Bea Tan of Queen of the Sands subdued Jennifer Cosas and Floremel Rodri­guez of Team Negros, 21-19, 18-21, 15-7, in the finals of the inaugural Beach Volleyball Republic (BVR) Championship on Saturday at the Sands, SM by the Bay in Pasay City.

    The BVR duo needed a third set to discharge the Negros ladies who fought fiercely and gave the former a hard finale showdown.

    “They gave us a good battle right in the sand and under the sun,” said Tan, one of the BVR founders, after receiving with Ceballos their P100,000 cash prize and a trophy.

    “I am happy that Bea and I were able to make it to the finals,” Ceballos added.

    Second placers Cosas and Rodriguez took home P70,000 and a trophy.

    The Negros volleybelles made it into the finals when their semifinals game against top seeded Alexa Micek and Charo Soriano was halted after Micek was injured.

    Micek suffered a mild concussion after a head-on collision in an A-board when she dove attempting to save a loose ball. Micek was brought to the hospital when she started vomiting.

    In her Instagram post, Micek said she “won’t be able to continue competing. I think my heart hurts more than my head. Cheering for the girls still in it!”

    With their semis match-up with Cosas and Rodri­guez forfeited, they were matched against Coyah Abanto and Judy Caballejo of Team Air Force.

    The four-time BVR On Tour champion Soriano and Micek finished fourth while Abanto and Ca­ballejo of Team Air Force finished third.

    Abanto and Caballejo received P50,000 while Soriano and Micek got P20,000.

    Lourdilyn Catubag and Karen Kay Quilario of Team Tagum defeated Erjane Magdato and Alexa Poli­dario of Team Bacolod, 21-13, 21-18, to finish fifth.

    BVR is a group of players composed of Tan, Soriano, Gretchen Ho, Fille Cainglet-Cayetano, and Angeline Gervacio whose aim is to promote the sport throughout the country.

    Outside Metro Manila, the BVR on Tour already visited Ilocos Sur, Caga­yan, Negros Occidental, Pampanga, Aklan, and Siquijor.


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.