Cebu Pacific Air by KCMG seals Formula Masters title in Zhuhai


E4---CebuPac20151006Cebu Pacific Air by KCMG capped off a dominant race weekend in the Formula Masters China Series (FMCS) season by winning the 2015 Team and overall Driver’s title with Martin Rump at Zhuhai International Circuit.

The Estonian driver had one hand on the crown after scoring a hat-trick in the first race (Race 13) by qualifying in pole position, winning the race and setting the fastest lap. Rump displayed a peerless drive the other Sunday to finish Rounds 13 and 14 in second place, enough for him to secure the title with three races to spare. Rump’s overall win further solidifies the fact that Cebu Pacific Air by KCMG is the team to beat in the series after winning the same title last year with James Munro.

Australian driver Nicholas Rowe had a solid points scoring weekend with a sixth place finish the other Saturday followed up with a pair of fifth place finishes the other Sunday in Rounds 14 and 15. Rowe’s strong and consistent placing has earned him a strong chance of finishing second overall in the standings. The highlight for Star Racing Academy driver Yuan Bo was a podium finish in Round 14 wherein the young Chinese driver finished in third place, one place behind series champion Martin Rump. This also enabled Bo to grab the best Chinese driver award for the weekend following a string of consistent finishes ahead of the other Chinese drivers in the series, completing a very strong weekend for the team.

Jeffrey Ye and Sean Zheng also showed flashes of good form as they were able to fight with some of the series regulars in all three races. Zheng in particular had an excellent Qualifying 2 session where he placed third.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.