CEU Scorpions rule NAASCU


Centro Escolar University (CEU) bagged its third consecutive championship title by trouncing St. Clare College (SCC) of Caloocan 71-62 in the 15th National Athletic Association of Schools, Colleges and Universities (NAASCU) men’s basketball tournament on Saturday at the Rizal Technological University Gym in Mandaluyong City.

Samboy De Leon led the CEU Scorpions with 20 points, four rebounds and one assist.

De Leon notched three triples and two doubles in the third quarter to stretch CEU’s lead to 15 points, 57-42, before the final period.

“Everytime, ang pinaka-strong point ng St. Clare ay third quarter. And that is why, if ever, na makuha namin itong third [quarter], good things will happen. Tama naman ang prediction ko,” said Best Coach awardee Edgar Macaraya of CEU.

Aaron Jeruta contributed 15 points and two rebounds while Jason Opiso chipped in 12 points and 11 rebounds for CEU.

The season’s Most Valuable Player, African Rodrigue Ebondo of CEU, finished with seven points and five rebounds.

Ebondo, along with Mon Alvin Abundo (CEU), Elmer Managuelod (SCC), Sandy Cenal (Rizal Technological University) and Jonathan Ibarra (SCC) were declared the Mythical 5.

Jeffakins Aguarra led the SCC Saints with 11 points and 16 rebounds while Aristotle Dionisio chipped in 12 points and seven rebounds.

RTU’s Mark Maloles was declared Rookie of the Year.

In the women’s division championship, the CEU Lady Scorpions upset RTU 66-51 to claim the crown.

In the high school division, SCC won against CEU 72-71 to forge a rubber match on Monday at 10 a.m. at the same venue.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.