• CHED opens 15,000 scholarship slots for Region 12


    The Commission on Higher Education (CHED) has opened some 15,000 government-funded scholarship slots for the school year 2014-2015 for residents of Region 12 or Soccsksargen. Dr. Maximo Aljibe, CHED Region 12 director, said the tertiary scholarships will mainly cater to “poor but deserving” students of the region, especially the recipients of programs previously funded by the abolished Priority Development Assistance Fund (PDAF) of members of the House of Representatives.

    Aljibe said the additional slots were made available after the national government’s decision to delegate the implementation and screening of prospective scholars to CHED. “Scholarship slots allocated to congressmen in the region under their PDAF will be apportioned in the entire region starting this year,” he said. Region 12 comprises the provinces of South Cotabato, Sultan Kudarat, Sarangani, North Cotabato and the cities of General Santos, Koronadal, Tacurong, Kidapawan and Cotabato.


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.