Children, teen MMA fighters display prowess in Balikatan 8 Goodwill Games

 The winners of Balikatan 8 Goodwill Games pose with their coaches and the judges.  CONTRIBUTED PHOTO

The winners of Balikatan 8 Goodwill Games pose with their coaches and the judges. CONTRIBUTED PHOTO

Mixed martial arts fans were treated to 15 exciting matches in the Balikatan 8 Goodwill Games, organized by veteran fighter and professional MMA trainer Henry Yap Kobayashi at the Hybrid Yaw-Yan Mixed Martial Arts Training Center, in Cubao, Quezon City.

Besides the regular MMA events, the tournament featured children and teen divisions with an 11-year old fighter as the youngest participant.

Hybrid Yaw-Yan fighter Reggie Escosora beat Fight Factory’s Fidel Fabia via technical knock-out, Kyle Matthew Torrente of Fight Factory won when his opponent Salvador Almeria of Strikes & Submission Wolf Pack was disqualified for kneeing the groin, John Anthony Bandales won via referee stop contest against Ronald San Juan, Team Dungeon’s Masaya Saito won via guillotine choke against Alex Moratalla of Gara MMA, Danilo Beleno of Fight Factory won against Aljie Riean O’Santos of Strikes & Submission Wolf Pack via guillotine choke, PAMAA Fighter Bernard Carl Lambitco won via TKO over Gara MMA’s Stephen Paul Atok, Team Dungeon’s Sean Aaron Ledesma won against Mike Christian Shapo of Ju-Muay MMA by disqualification, Hybrid Yaw-Yan’s Justin Bruce Gonzales won via arm bar against Gara MMA fighter Paul Gabriel Atok, Team Dungeon’s Ivan Miguel Camacho got the Knock Out of the Night and the fastest one in Balikatan MMA’S history when he KOed Mark Erick Navarro of Bulacan Top Team, 14 seconds into the 1st round, Ju-Muay MMA’s John Frank Navarro won via rear naked choke over Jon Laureles, Strikes & Submission Wolf Pack’s Gilbert Ibloguin beat Hybrid Yaw-Yan’s Rosher Mamuri via arm bar, Ju-Muay MMA’s Ricky Anonuevo lost by default when he failed to show up on time, Hybrid Yaw-Yan’s Edmon Miranda won via Referee Stop Contest against Bulacan Top Team’s Montgomery Balilo, PAMAA Fighter Jefferson Grulla won via guillotine choke against Eugene Torres and Gara MMA’s Kevin Daniel Parilla won via unanimous decision against Baliwag Fight Club’s Michael Dulnuan.

In the main event, Amir Mohammed won via majority decision over Hybrid Yaw-Yan’s John Vincent Mirafor.

In addition to certificate of victories and medals, winners in the children and teen MMA events were given two years educational scholarship at any branch of Balikatan 8 partner schools offering courses on Hotel and Restaurant Management, culinary arts, bartending, computer courses, practical nursing and Tesda courses.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.