CIDG bares names of BOI on Maguindanao incident


Police Director Benjamin Magalong, Director of the Criminal Investigation and Detection Group (CIDG) who chairs the Board of Inquiry (BOI) on Friday bared the names of the PNP officers that will also be part of the investigation team on police operation to neutralize two “high value targets” in Mamasapano, Maguindanao last January 25 that resulted in the death of 44 members of PNP Special Action Force (SAF).

“In the interest of transparency as PNP OIC PDDG Leonardo A Espina has always espoused, we are giving the public the names of the PNP officers who will compose the Board of Inquiry that will conduct an objective, impartial and thorough investigation into the Mamasapano incident last January 25,2015 in Maguindanao province”, said Magalong.

“Since the BOI’s activation on February 2, 2015, the body has already documented more than 300 signed affidavits of SAF members, AFP officials, witnesses and other civilians who may have any knowledge, to aid our investigators in uncovering the circumstances surrounding the operation to neutralize two high-value terrorist targets that precipitated into a bloody tactical engagement that resulted in the neutralization of one of the targets and the death of 44 PNP –SAF troopers,” Magalong added.p>According to Espina, the BOI will be take charge of both internal and external aspects, as to what are the liabilities of the officers who led this SAF operation.

The BOI is composed of Magalong as chair, with members Police Director Catalino Rodriguez and Chief Supt Atty John Sosito; and Operational Audit team composed of SSupt Cesar Hawthorne Binag, SSupt Benigno Durana Jr., SSupt Robert Po, Sr. Supt. Ronald Dela Rosa and Chief Insp David Duarte.

*Police Director Catalino Rodriguez — PMA class 81; currently the Director of the Directorate for Reseach and Development (DRD); was former Regional Director of PRO 10 in Northern Mindanao; former Director, DIPO-Visayas in 2013-2014 and was Provincial Director of Misamis Oriental in 2008. Finished graduate studies with a Degree of Master in Criminal Justice and Police Management at the University of Lei Ces Per in U.K. with Civil Service Executive Examination(CSEE) eligiblity.

*Chief Supt. John Sosito — PNPA class ’84, current Executive Officer of DIPO-Eastern Mindanao, member of Philippine Bar; Provincial Director of one of the Provinces in PRO8,NCRPO in 2006 and Training Service with Police Executive Senior Eligibility (PESE) of NAPOLCOM;

*Sr. Supt. Cesar Hawthorne Binag — PMA class ’87 who was formerly assigned with NCRPO as Station Commander of PS 10 in 2003, HPG in 2004 and served a tour of duty with the UN Mission in Liberia in 2013-2014;

*Sr. Supt. Benigno Durana Jr. — PMA class ’88, who was formerly Provincial Director of Aklan PPO, had a brief assignment with SAF in 1990-1992 as Operation Officer, with DCA, PAOCC and saw action in the PNP-UN mission last 2002;

*Sr, Supt. Robert Po — PNPA class 85, formerly assigned at the Directorate for Investigation and Detective Management (DIDM), NCRPO Manila Police District as Chief Directorial Staff, in General Santos as City Director in 2008 and in CIDG as Regional Chief of NCRCIDG, he is the current Deputy PIO, PNP

*Sr. Supt. Ronald Dela Rosa — PMA class ’86, former City Director of Davao City, assigned also in Camp Crame at the DHRDD in 2003, and former CIDG investigator; and lastly

*Chief Insp David Joy Duarte — PNPA class 2005, the topnotcher of his class and a graduate of the Asia Institute of Management (AIM). He served the SAF in 2005-2011 as Intelligence Officer and Logistics Officer, and presently assigned at the Center for Police Strategic Management.

Magalong, who heads the BOI, is himself a former SAF Battalion Commander, Chief Directorial Staff (CDS) and saw action during the siege at Camp Bagong Diwa in Bicutan, Taguig City in March 2001 during the term of then CPNP PDG Arturo Lomibao, where ASG members staged a stand-off but were ultimately neutralized by Magalong and his team. PNA


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.