• COA says Velasco highest paid SC justice in 2013


    Supreme Court (SC) Associate Justice Presbitero Velasco, Jr. was the highest paid member of the judiciary last year, according to the Commission on Audit (CoA) report on salaries and allowances (Rosa).

    Overall, he is ranked 21st with total earnings of P5.67 million. The official who received the highest salary and allowances was Robert Vergara, president and general manager of the Government Service Insurance System (GSIS) at P12 million.

    SC Chief Justice Maria Lourdes Sereno was the seventh highest paid among the justices, having received P4.21 million.

    The grand total of salaries and allowances include the basic salary plus amounts corresponding to personnel economic relief allowance (Pera)/additional compensation (Adcom)/honorarium, allowances, benefits, discretionary funds and others.

    As Chief Justice with salary grade 32, Sereno received P1.23 million in basic salary plus benefits and allowances for a total of P3.36 million. She sits as Presidential Electoral Tribunal (PET) Chairperson with a salary of P846,000.

    As SC Associate Justice with salary grade 31, Velasco received P1.11 million basic salary plus additional amounts for a total of P3.27 million. He is a PET member and gets a salary of P822,000.

    He also sits as chairman of the House of Representatives Electoral Tribunal with an extra pay of P1.57 million.

    Following him are Associate Justices Lucas Bersamin (P5.51 million), Diosdado Peralta (P5.35 million), Antonio Carpio (P5.29 million), Teresita de Castro (P4.919 million), Arturo Brion (P4.81 million), Sereno, Martin Villarama (P4 million), Jose Mendoza (P3.94 million), Bienvenido Reyes (P3.90 million), Mariano del Castillo (P3.90 million), Estela Perlas-Bernabe (P3.87 million), Jose Perez (P3.85 million), Marivic Leonen (P3.78 million) and Roberto Abad (P3.53 million).

    Sandiganbayan Fourth Division Chairman Gregory Ong received the highest pay among the 15 Sandiganbayan magistrates with P2,725, 304.15. Ong got a salary of P1.02 million and P1.70 million in allowances and discretionary funds.

    Sandiganbayan Presiding Justice Amparo Cabotaje-Tang received P2,719,453.28.

    Of the CA Justices, Justice Henri Inting got the highest pay at P2,522, 464.

    Following Justices Ong and Cabotaje-Tang are Associate Justices Jose Hernandez (P2.60 million), Roland Jurado (P2.57 million), Teresita Baldos (P2.50 million), Maria Cristina Cornejo (P2.48 million), Napoleon Inoturan (P2.47 million), Alex Quiroz (P2.46 million), Efren dxxvxvela Cruz (P2.43 million), Rodolfo Ponferrada (P2.41 million), Oscar Herrera (P2.38 million), Samuel Martires (P2.33 million), Alexander Gesmundo (P2.30 million) and Rafael Lagos (P2.22 million).

    Ombudsman Conchita Carpio-Morales received P2.11 million in 2013.


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.