Cojuangco wins POC election anew


Jose “Peping” Cojuangco Jr. was elected Philippine Olympic Committee (POC) president for the fourth consecutive time on Friday at the Wack-Wack Golf and Country Club in Mandaluyong City.

Cojuangco was virtually unopposed during Friday’s election after his challenger Ricky Vargas, head of the Association of Boxing Alliances of the Philippines was disqualified by the POC.

Cojuangco got 26 votes out of 40 present voters.

“Well I hope this will be my last and my best,” Cojuangco, 82, told The Manila Times after the election. “I really went for this because I have a big plan how to improve our athletes. Once we get into this, we will get our Olympic gold medal in the 2020 Olympics.”

Philippine Karatedo Federation and Larong Volleyball sa Pilipinas President Joey Romasanta was reelected first vice president for the second time defeating Albee Benitez of Philippine Badminton Association, 23-14.

Jeff Antonio Tamayo of Philippine Lawn Tennis Association was reelected as second vice-president over Lucas Managuelod of Muay Thai, 26-11.

Wushu Secretary-General Julian Camacho defeated Samahang Basketbol ng Pilipinas Executive Secretary Sonny Barrios, 25-12.

Jonne Go of Philippine Canoe-Kayak Federation was elected auditor unopposed with 31 votes.

The elected board members were Jesus Clint Aranas (archery), Cynthia Carrion (gymnastic), Roberto Mananquil (billiards) and Prospero Pichay (chess).

Among the NSAs that did not vote were fencing, cycling, rowing, boxing, weightlifting and iceskating.



Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.