Collegiate basketball stars to be honored


THE best performers in college basketball will be honored today in the University Athletic Association of the Philippines-National Collegiate Athletic Association (UAAP-NCAA) Press Corps 2014 Collegiate Basketball Awards at the Saisaki-Kamayan in Edsa.

Coaches Eric Altamirano of National University and Boyet Fernandez of San Beda College lead the awardees in the annual event presented by Smart and supported by San Miguel Corporation, Gatorade and the Philippine Sportswriters Association.

Courtside reporter Kristelle Batchelor of University of Santo Tomas will host the proceedings set at 7 p.m.

Besides Altamirano and Fernandez, who will be feted with the Coach of the Year award for steering their respective teams to the championship, other honorees are Kiefer Ravena of Ateneo and Earl Scottie Thompson of University of Perpetual Help.

Both are named the Most Valuable Player in the UAAP and the NCAA, who will also be given distinction as part of the Collegiate Mythical Team.

Joining them in the Mythical Team are Ola Adeogun of San Beda, Mac Belo of Far Eastern University, and Jeron Teng of De La Salle University.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.