Computerized realty tax payment in Makati starts today


PAYMENT of realty taxes through computerized satellite payment centers in Makati’s 31 villeges starts January 5, Acting Mayor Kid Pena announced on Monday.

Pena said the satellite payment centers, meant to make paying realty taxes easier for the city’s residents, would be open to accept payments until January 15.

The acting mayor said instead of going to City Hall, taxpayers could just go to their respective barangay halls to pay their realty taxes.

The payment centers are electronically linked to the Realty Tax Division of the Makati City Hall and will be open from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m., according to Pena.

“Taxpayers only need to present their previous receipt when making the payment,” Peña said. “Each transaction usually takes a maximum of four minutes, and an electronic receipt is issued immediately upon payment.”

In its official website, the Makati City Hall announced that for the first week of January, six barangays in District 1 would serve taxpayers, as follows: Bel-Air, January 5 and 6; Urdaneta, January 5; Dasmariñas, January 6 and 7; Magallanes, January 7 and 8; San Lorenzo, January 8 and 9; and Forbes Park, January 9.

On January 11, satellite payment centers will simultaneously operate from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. in five barangays, namely, Bangkal, Pio del Pilar, San Isidro, Palanan, and San Antonio.

Slated for January 12 are Barangays La Paz, Sta. Cruz, Singkamas, Tejeros, and Kasilawan. On Wednesday, January 13, payment centers will be open in Barangays Carmona, Olympia, Valenzuela, Poblacion and Guadalupe Viejo.

Five more barangays will be open on January 14: Barangays Guadalupe Nuevo, Pinagkaisahan, Pitogo, Cembo and South Cembo.

The last batch to open satellite payment centers on January 15, Friday, will be Barangays
West Rembo, East Rembo, Comembo, Pembo, and Rizal.

Makati offers a 10-percent discount on realty taxes paid on an annual basis, and five percent for quarterly payments made during the first 20 days of the quarter.

However, annual realty tax payments made after March will be charged an 8 percent penalty, while late quarterly payments will incur a penalty of 2 percent per month.

Realty tax collection in Makati starts on the first working day of January until January 20. The succeeding quarterly payments are made until April 20 (second quarter), July 20 (third quarter), and October 20 (fourth quarter).


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.