• Cue masters, jin to get President’s Award


    Four world champions will be receiving the President’s Award in the Philippine Sportswriters Association (PSA) Annual Awards Night on January 25 at the Solaire Resort and Casino in Pasay City.

    They are Rubilen Amit, Dennis Orcollo and Lee Van Corteza of billiards, and Mikaela Calamba of tae kwon do, who ruled their respective world-level tournaments in 2013.

    “Their respective triumphs are proof that Filipino athletes are truly world class. There were several others considered for the [President’s] award, but all four of them are truly deserving of it,” said PSA President Jun Lomibao of the Business Mirror.

    Amit dominated the 2013 Women’s World 10-Ball Championship as she dethroned Kelly Fisher of Great Britain during their championship showdown, 10-7, in November at the Resorts World Hotel. She is the first and only two-time champion in the World 10-Ball after ruling the 2009 edition.

    For her part, Calamba led the country’s three-gold medal romp in the 8th World Poomsae Championships. She topped the female individual freestyle then connived with Jocel Lyn Ninobla and Rinna Babanta in getting the under-17 team gold. The third gold was delivered by the senior men’s team of Jean Pierre Sabido, Glenn Lava and Ernesto Guzman.

    Orcollo and Corteza also reigned supreme in the World Cup of Pool following their 10-8 win over Neils Feijen and Nick Van den Berg of the Netherlands in the final, 10-8. It was the third World Cup of Pool crown of the Philippines as Efren Reyes and Francisco Bustamante also won in 2009 and 2006.

    The Gilas Pilipinas cagers were earlier named as 2013 Athletes of the Year.


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.