• Cui says Catalan-Dima match no contest

    0
    Rene Catalan FILE PHOTO

    Rene Catalan FILE PHOTO

    TWENTY-FOUR hours after One Fighting Championship (FC) declared that his fight against Khim Dima a no-contest, Asian Games 2006 sanshou gold medalist Rene Catalan asked for a rematch with the Cambodian kick boxer.

    One FC President Victor Cui said that Japanese referee Kenichi Serizawa was slapped with indefinite suspension for allowing Dima to win via technical knockout despite the use of illegal blows on the back of Catalan’s head during round two.

    “Catalan wants a rematch and Dima agreed to it too after we declared the bout a no contest rule,” Cui told The Manila Times.

    “He [Kenichi] is a veteran referee and I do not know why he didn’t issue a warning to Dima for hitting Catalan on the back of his head which is illegal in MMA. I cannot tolerate that because the safety of the fighter is at stake. We reviewed the fight tape and saw everything.”

    Catalan had an outstanding performance in the first round of the fight, where he attempted to beat Dima with an armbar. Dima retaliated in the second round unleashing several illegal blows on the back of Catalan’s head.

    Hitting the opponent on the back of the head is illegal in professional MMA fights, including in the Ultimate Fighting Championship, because it could kill an opponent. It is also a ground to disqualify an offending fighter.

    Cui said that the Catalan-Dima rematch might take place in Manila’s One FC: Moment of Truth fight card at the Mall of Asia Arena in Pasay City on December 6.

    Share.
    loading...
    Loading...

    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.