• D-League action begins Jan 21


    Three new teams will heat up the 2016 Philippine Basketball Association (PBA) Developmental League (D-League) Aspirants’ Cup which will unfold on January 21 at the Fil-Oil Flying V Arena in San Juan City.

    Jam Liner – University of the Philippines, Mindanao Aguilas – WMSU-SCC Zamboanga and Phoenix Petroleum – Far Eastern University are the three additional teams in D-League this year.

    Game format will be single round-robin in the eliminations with the top four teams enjoying a twice-to-beat advantage going into the quarterfinals.

    Teams advancing in the semifinals will play in a best-of-three game while the championships will be a best-of-five battle.

    Tanduay Light Rhum Masters will take on Caida Tile Masters (formerly Racal-Keramix) in the opening game at 2 p.m. while Jam Liner – University of the Philippines will face returning BDO – National University at 4 p.m.

    Defending Foundation Cup champion Cafe France will battle newcomer Mindanao Aguilas on January 25.

    The other contending teams this season are the Phoenix Petroleum – Far Eastern University, AMA University Online Education and Wangs Basketball.

    Hapee Fresh Fighters opted to skip this season.

    PBA D-League is the PBA’s official minor league basketball organization.


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.