Davao fiasco prompts relief of 19 officials


At least 19 area and airport managers were relieved from their respective positions on Monday, in consonance with the present restructuring of the Civil Aviation Authority of the Philippines (CAAP).

CAAP officer-in-charge Captain John Andrews, who signed the order, said the affected officials who manned the country’s major and secondary airports will be designated to new positions to ensure operations efficiency of the aviation facilities.

The reshuffle order, it was reported, was an offshoot of the Davao fiasco after the airport manager failed to provide immediate assistance to some 165 passengers on board Cebu Pacific flight 5J-971 that overshoot the Davao International Airport runway last June 2, 2013.

The CAAP suspended the two pilots of flight 5J-971 which the agency said the accident stemmed for “pilot error.”

However, the general manager of the Aquino International Airport is not included in the reshuffle.

Transportation and Communications Secretary Joseph Emilio Abaya said earlier that it’s just a healthy policy of rotating people who have been in the positions for decades.

Personnel that have been relieved for their present positions and were designated to their new positions include:

1. Area Managers–Demaetrio Apolinar, Laoag; Ronald Esta-billo, Tuguegarao; Eduardo Lansang, Plaridel; Cynthia Tu-manut, Palawan; Antonio Al-fonso, Legazpi; Frederick San Felix, Iloilo; Arnel Borlado, Cebu; Efren Nagrama, Tacloban; Jose Budiongan, La-guindingan; Agnes Udang, Davao; Evangeline Babate, Butuan.

2. Airport Managers–Emma-nuel Costelo, Pagadian; Celso Bayabos, Ozamis.

3. Airport Officer In Charge–Rodolfo Collantes, Surigao; Diorico Elema, Calbayog.

4. Central Office- Naga Rascal who was assigned to ADMS; Roy Gamosa, was transferred to ADMS; and Egon Nile Jordan, to FSIS


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.