• Dayrit, Trillanes forge title clash in PSC-Philta tourney


    Top seed Diego Dayrit and No. 2 John Harold Trillanes set up an explosive duel for the 10-unisex crown even as the fancied bets continued to dominate their respective divisions in the fourth PSC-Philta age group tennis tournament at the Rizal Memorial Tennis Center on Saturday.

    Dayrit, who earlier downed Carlos Macie, overpowered Sebastian Lhuillier and came away with a 6-2, 6-3 romp while Trillanes posted a more convincing 6-1, 6-1 win over Jose Martin Dizon in the other semis clash.

    That makes today’s (Sunday) encounter worth watching as they square off for the title along with those in the other divisions at the close of the five-day tournament sponsored by the Philippine Sports Commission and backed by Wilson Championship Extra Duty Balls.

    Trillanes also moved into the semifinals in the 12 boys with a 6-0, 6-4 victory over Jerome Ignacio with the former set to take on the winner of the match between second seed Tim Gumban and Johann Singh being played at presstime.

    No. 4 Angelo Aparte likewise kept his title bid alive by blasting Jude Hidalgo, 6-0, 6-0, to arrange a semis duel with the victor in the Dayrit-Lhuillier faceoff in the Group I tournament held in honor of Philippine Sports commissioner Buddy Andrada.

    Top ranked Jake Martin and Aidyll Ignacio beat Joseph Anida, 6-1, 6-0, and Lhullier, 6-0, 6-2, respectively, to clinch the first two semis berths in the 14 boys while second seed Frances Santiago scored a 1-0 (ret.) win over Jackie Tan-Ho to advance to the 14 girls finals against top seed Rafaela Villanueva.

    Third seed Emmanuel Vacalares Jr. thumped Manuel Balce III, 6-2, 6-2, to reach the semis of the 16 boys of the event also serving as the final age-group tournament in a busy tennis season.

    Also being disputed at presstime are finals slots in the 16 girls among Ma. Dominique Ong-Santiago and Erika Manduriao-Villanueva, and in the 18 girls among Ong-Isabella Mendoza and Manduriao-Nicole Amistad.


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.