• Death toll in Mindanao floods and landslides now at 26


    The National Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Council (NDRRMC) on Thursday reported that the number of people killed due to low pressure area (LPA) induced flash floods and landslides in Mindanao on Thursday reached 26.

    NDRRMC said that the partial official death toll is broken down as follows: 13 in Region 11 or Davao Region, 10 in Caraga Region, two in Region 10 (Northern Mindanao) and one in Region 9 (Zamboanga Peninsula).

    Most of the deaths are attributable to landslides and drowning, it said.

    NDRRMC added that 11 persons were reported missing — seven in Region 11, three in Caraga region and one in Region 9 while 36 persons got injured.

    NDDRMC said that 71,482 families or 339,870 persons were affected in 355 barangays in 62 municipalities in 14 provinces of Regions 10 (Northern Mindanao), 11 (Davao Region) and Caraga.

    Of these, 42,714families or 206,120 persons were displaced and served inside 225 evacuation centers.

    The NDRRMC also said 247 passengers of 24 vessels and 10 motorbancas were still stranded in the ports of Camarines Sur, and Cebu as of 6 a.m. Wednesday.

    It added that 71 roads and 37 bridges were not passable in Regions 9, 10, 11 and Caraga.

    The NDRRMC said the number of totally damaged houses reached 293 while 1,039 were partially damaged in Regions 10, 11 and Caraga.

    The NDRRMC also said that 11 bridges, 15 roads and six public infrastructures sustained damages in Regions 10, 11 and Caraga while a total of 10,903 hectares agricultural crops were damaged in Region 11 and Caraga.

    The disaster agency reported 19 incidents, 13 of which were landslides, and five flooding and flashfloods in Regions 9, 10, 11, Caraga and ARMM.

    It added that total cost of government assistance for the affected families has reached P16,639,883.88 worth of relief goods from the combined resources of the Department of Social and Welfare Development (DSWD) that allocated P6,890,828.88; local government units (LGUs) in Regions 11 and Caraga amounting to P9,749,055 and Department of Health allocates P330,897.

    Meanwhile, the NDRRMC said the latest to be placed under state of calamity are Kauswagan, Lanao del Norte;Tarragona, Davao Oriental;Manay, Davao Oriental; Caraga, Davao Oriental;Baganga, Davao Oriental;Cateel, Davao Oriental;and,Boston, Davao Oriental. PNA


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.