• Del Rosario breaks record, leads PSL MOS winners


    Promising tanker Joey Del Rosario won four gold highlighted by his record-breaking feat in the boys’ 7-8 years to lead the Most Outstanding Swimmer (MOS) awardees in the Motivational Category of the 76th Philippine Swimming League (PSL)-Diliman Preparatory School (DPS) National Leg Series held at the DPS Swimming Pool in Quezon City.

    Del Rosario, a Susan Papa Swim Academy standout, nailed new marks in the 25-meter butterfly (18.17) and 20m backstroke (20.44), beating the old records of Michael Lozada (18.18 in fly and 20.46 in back). Del Rosario also ruled the 25m breaststroke (25.93) and 25m freestyle (18.02).

    “This kid (Del Rosario) has improved a lot and he proved to us today that he has the ability to compete and win against some of the country’s best swimmers of his age. We want to develop young talents like him,” said PSL President Susan Papa.

    Representing Pasig City Swimming League, Caruncho made her presence felt by earning 31 points, good enough to claim the girls’ 11-12 MOS trophy.

    Also winning MOS awards were Janine Colsul (6-under), Janna Kim Endozo (7-8), Julliana May Cabrera (9-10), Janelle Bianca Café (13-14) and Cris Ann Carias (15-over) in girls and Manu Juliene Ugaban (6-under), Limuel Realda (9-10), Eriah Andre Abenir (11-12), Dickson Tolinero (13-14) and Erick John Ulpindo (15-over) in boys.

    “I’m pushing for a more solid grassroots development program and it’s my mission to provide both athletic and academic education for young boys and girls. A lot of PSL swimmers are scholars in their respective schools based on our recommendation,” said Papa.

    “We want to help as many young boys and girls swimmers to compete every month and qualify for the international competitions,” added Papa as the tournament serves as basis to select swimmers for international competitions in Singapore, Thailand and Australia.

    The other medalists were Chelsea Pastolero, Gian Carlo banas, Shane Erica Majimbun, Critella Tarroquin, Jacob Tejada, Yuri Acidre, Raizel Bonzon, Amaris Baluyut, Justine Fadriquela, Jhade Eugenio, Zyren Dela Paz, Phionna Politico, Jake Torrelino, Kerl Lanot, Frances Realda, Lois Mallilin, Wynona Caruncho, Justine Redima, Jay Victor Buniel, April De Sotto, Justine Simbulan, David De Layola and Lorenzo Garcia.

    The PSL is a national sports swimming association for universities and colleges accredited by the Federation of School Sports Association of the Philippines (Fessap), internationally affiliated member of Federation of International Sports University (FISU).


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.