• DepEd releases P642-M disaster aid


    ILOILO CITY: More than 29,000 public school teachers in five regions have received half of their assistance benefits from the Presidential Social Fund as victims of Typhoon Yolanda and the 7.2-magnitude earthquake that hit the Visayas in 2013.

    Leah Belleza, of the Department of Education in Western Visayas, said 29,665 teachers from the regions of Calabarzon, Mimaropa, Bicol, Western Visayas, and Eastern Visayas received at least P642,139,000 financial assistance.

    The amount, Belleza added, is part of the P1,284,260,000 financial assistance for DepEd teachers and employees.

    The teachers received P100,000 each for totally damaged houses and P30,000 each for partially damaged houses.

    In DepEd Western Visayas Region, 1,243 totally damaged and 11,092 partially damaged houses were validated and their owners will receive the financial assistance.

    Belleza said the recipients in the region received the first tranche of P253,170,000 with P37,515,000 for the Division of Aklan; P20,460,00 for the Division of Antique, P30,000 for the Division of Cadiz City, P101,090,000 for the Division of Capiz, P180,000 for the Division of Escalante City, P60,000 for the Division of Guimaras, P229,370,000 for the Division of Iloilo, P21,160,000 for the Division of Passi City, P33,770,000 for the Division of Roxas City, and P4,730,000 for the Division of Sagay City.

    Earlier, Undersecretary Alexander Pama, chief of the National Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Council and Administrator of the Office of Civil Defense, said there was validation process conducted on government workers before they were given financial aid.

    The teachers were the first validated workers given financial assistance from the Presidential Social Fund.

    Also released were P80,000 for DepEd RegonCalabarzon regional office and Division of Tayabas; Region Mimaropa Division of Palawan with P1,500,000; Bicol Region Division of Masbate with P5,780,000; Central Visayas Region Division of Cebu, Bogo City, Bohol, Leyte and Tagbilaran City amounting a total of P114,170,000; Eastern Visayas regional office, Division of Baybay City, Biliran, Borongan, Catbalogan City, Eastern Samar, Leyte, Ormoc, Samar, and Tacloban City amounting a total of P267,430,000.


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.