• Differently-abled athletes to receive incentives


    Some P6 million cash incentives will be distributed to the differently-abled athletes that won medals in the 2015 Asean Para Games held in Singapore.

    Based on Republic Act 10669 otherwise known as Sports Incentives Act, all gold medalists will receive P150,000 while the silver and bronze winner get P75,000 and P30,000, respectively.

    The funds will be coming from the Philippine Amusement and Gaming Corporation.

    The Philippine Team went home with 16 golds, 17 silvers and 26 bronzes with swimmer Ernie Gawilan emerging the most decorated Filipino athlete with two individual golds and one silver.

    He also earned a spot in the 2016 Paralympic Games to be held in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil following his impressive showing in the 400m freestyle and 100m freestyle events.

    The other gold medalists were Menandro Redor, Sander Severino and men’s team of chess; Jerrold Pete Macabio, Joel Balatucan and Prudencia Del Mundo of athletics; Adeline Ancheta of powerlifting; Josephine Medina of table tennis; and Gary Adornajo Begino of swimming.

    Overall, the Philippines wound up seventh overall in the medal tally.

    Thailand took the top spot with 95 golds, 76 silvers and 79 bronzes followed by Indonesia (81-74-63), Malaysia (52-58-37), Vietnam (48-58-50), Singapore (24-17-22) and Myanmar (16-17-29).

    Brunei Darussalam placed eighth (3-3-6), Cambodia in ninth (1-2-6) and Laos in 10th (0-2-3).


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.