DoTr to mark 5 stations of P255-B Manila to Pampanga railway project


The Department of Transportation (DoTr) will lead on Monday the marking of five train stations that will connect Manila to Central Luzon, the Philippine National Railways (PNR) has announced.

The 106-kilometer Manila to Clark Railway Project will run from Tutuban, Manila to Clark, Pampanga and will have a total of 17 stations, the PNR said in a statement on Sunday.

Of the 17, five will be marked in a ceremony. These are in Marilao, Meycauayan, Valenzuela, Caloocan and Tutuban.

The 12 other stations are: Solis, Bocaue, Balagtas, Guiguinto, Malolos, Calumpit, Apalit, San Fernando, Angeles, Clark, Clark International Airport, and the proposed New Clark City in Pampanga.

“This project will ease traffic congestion and help thousands of commuters coming from Bulacan and Pampanga who travel daily to their workplaces or schools in Metro Manila,” PNR General Manager Junn Magno said.

Japan, through its official development assistance, will fund the P255-billion project that will begin construction in the last quarter of 2017 and completed by the last quarter of 2021, the DoTr said.

“The whole line will have 13 train sets with eight cars of coaches per train set. Each train can reach a maximum speed of 120 km per hour,” according to the DoTr.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.