• DPWH to build P1.73-B water supply projects in 30 tourism areas


    Aimed at further boosting the country’s tourism industry, the Department of Public Works and Highways (DPWH) will commence this year the implementation of Tourism Water Supply Infrastructure Program (TWSIP) to provide potable water supply to 30 waterless tourism spots across the country.

    DPWH secretary Rogelio Singson said with the release by the Department of Budget and Management (DBM) of P1.73 Billion for the TWSIP, the department is now set to begin with the water source development and corresponding detailed engineering design of projects that were identified in coordination with the Department of Tourism(DOT), Local Water Utilities Administration (LWUA), and the National Anti-Poverty Commission (NAPC).

    Singson said areas that were identified as recipients of the projects are considered in-need locations or those that have remain waterless for years, but have potential for growth particularly in the tourism industry.

    “Tourism spots need to have safe and sustainable water supplies in order to cater to more tourists. This will be addressed once our water resource projects are completed,” the DPWH Secretary said.

    “Our target is to start the implementation of TWSIP this year, or as soon as possible,” Singson also said.

    The DPWH chief said among the 30 municipalities that will be covered by the project are: Currimao and San Nicolas in Ilocos Norte (Region 1); Baguio City in Benguet (Cordillera Administrative Region); Roxas and El Nido in Palawan (Region 4B); Aroroy in Masbate (Region 5); Murcia and San Carlos City in Negros Occidental, Balete and Libacao in Aklan; Jamindan and Pres. Roxas in Capiz and Passi in Iloilo, all of Region 6.

    Also included are eight (8) municipalities in Central Visayas, with five in Cebu namely: Aloguinsan, Toledo City, San Fernando, Sibonga, and three in Bohol namely: Jetafe, Talibon, and Trinidad.

    Adding to the beneficiaries are two areas in Western Mindanao namely, Dapitan City in Zamboanga del Norte and Zamboanga City in Zamboanga del Sur; one in Region 10 namely, Barangay Carmen, Cagayan de Oro in Misamis Oriental; with six in Region 11 namely: Nabunturan and Montevista in Compostela Valley and Asuncio, Braulio E Dujali, Carmen and New Corella in Davao del Norte.

    The Tourism Water Supply Infrastructure Program is a joint project of the DPWH, DOT, LWUA, NAPC, with support from the U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID), seeking to facilitate tourism and economic growth in identified priority development areas in the Philippines. PNA


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    1 Comment

    1. So the DPWH is going to get a water supply to these designated tourist spots.
      but cant even organise Potable water to their own citizens.
      I stayed in a Bananagary in San Jose Negros Oriental, ONE WATER PIPE STAND, to share amongst approximately 70 people.
      Shame on you to let this happen