Dula, Zamora post new records in Coseteng swim meet

Record-breakers Marc Bryan Dula of Weissenheimer Academy (left) and Sean Terence Zamora of University of Santo Tomas. CONTRIBUTED PHOTO

Record-breakers Marc Bryan Dula of Weissenheimer Academy (left) and Sean Terence Zamora of University of Santo Tomas. CONTRIBUTED PHOTO

Weissenheimer Academy’s Marc Bryan Dula and University of Santo Tomas’ Sean Terence Zamora notched two new marks each to lead the record-breakers on the opening day of the 87th Philippine Swimming League (PSL) National Series – 8th Sen. Nikki Coseteng Swimming Championship on Saturday at the Diliman College swimming pool in Quezon City.

Dula, a multi-gold medalists in Singapore and Thailand meets, registered one minute and 25.86 seconds to erase the 1:31.06 old mark in the boys’ 8 years 100-meter Individual Medley (IM). He also broke the 39.12 former record in the 50m butterfly with a new record time of 36.35.

Zamora, the undisputed pool king in the Indian Ocean All-Star Challenge in Australia, submitted 2:12.65 in the boys’ 15-over 200m IM, eclipsing the 2:18.82 old mark then checked in at 59.97 segundo in the 100m backstroke, way better than the 1:03.53 previous time.

“We are happy seeing these kids break records. They’re motivated to make it to the team going to international tournaments next year. These swimmers are now qualified in our major competitions abroad in 2016 in Australia and Japan. We are looking forward see more records falling in day two,” said PSL President Susan Papa.

Also nailing new marks were Gian Daniel Berino (boys’ 15-over 100m backstroke, 1:01.89), Jerard Dominic Jacinto (boys’ 14 years 100m backstroke, 1:01.15), Rio Lorenzo Malapitan (boys’ 12 200m breaststroke, 3:07.69), Zhakira Eybriel Idulsa (girls’ 200m breaststroke, 3:01.45) and Erika Lois Suelan (girls’ 11 200m breaststroke, 3:03.09).

Winning gold medals in the respective events were Kyla Soguilon (girls’ 11 200m IM), Aubrey Tom (girls’ 8 100m IM), Chelsea Pastrolero (girls’ 7 100m IM), Estelle Mendez (girls’ 6-under 100m IM), Master Charles Janda (boys’ 6-under 100m IM), Trump Christian Luistro (boys’ 7 100m IM), Marie Joe Borres (girls’ 10 200m IM), Ivo Enot (boys’ 9 100m IM), Roger Dante Giron (boys’ 15-over 200m breaststroke) and Ferdinand Ian Trinidad (boys’ 13 200m IM).

The other gold medalists were Patricia Aguilar, Carmenrose Matabuena, Jennuel De Leon, Luis Ventura, Timothy Bernal, Nicolai Chiong, Isabel Baclig, Angel Abanto, Alfonso Torrico, Adrienne Macapagal, Kyle Pua, McKiro Isejah Agbanlog, Shella Ocampo, Jose Rommel Corpuz, Nigel Anthony Romey, Althea Faye Golimlim, Master Charles Janda and Mateo Gael Ileto.

The Coseteng Swim Meet will serve as qualifying for the prestigious 2017 Summer World University Games in Taipei, Taiwan as well as major international tournaments the PSL has lined up next year including the Indian Ocean All-Star Challenge in Perth, Australia, the Phuket Invitational Swimming Championship in Thailand, the Japan Spring Swimming Championship and the Hong Kong Stingrays Swimming Meet.

“Motivated talaga ang mga bata dahil gusto nilang makasama sa mga international tournaments na sinasalihan namin. Nakita nila na masaya maging part ng PSL team dahil after ng competition, binibigyan namin sila ng reward, ‘yung makapasyal sa magagandang lugar sa bansang pinupuntahan namin,” added Papa.

PSL is a national sports swimming association for Universities and Colleges accredited by the Federation of School Sports Association of the Philippines (Fessap), internationally affiliated member of Federation of International Sports University (FISU).


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.