• Duterte bares more appointees


    The official family of President-elect Rodrigo Duterte is almost complete.
    The Duterte Cabinet is composed of former government officials, retired police and military officers and his friends and classmates.

    Duterte bared his new appointees during a news conference on Thursday night.

    His chief aide, Christopher “Bong” Go, was named head of the Presidential Management Staff, while Martin Andanar, a television news anchor, was appointed secretary of the Presidential Communications Operations Office.

    Duterte also named former police general Edgar Galvante as the new chief of the Land Transportation Office.

    Disaster risk expert Ed del Rosario will serve as undersecretary of the Department of National Defense.

    Del Rosario used to be the executive director of the National Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Council (NDRRMC).

    Former Anakpawis Rep. Joel Maglungsod, a former New People’s Army rebel, was appointed undersecretary of the Department of Labor and Employment.

    Four of Duterte’s appointees come from North Cotabato, Maguindanao and South Cotabato.

    Agriculture Secretary Emmanuel Piñol, who hails from the town of M’lang, was the former governor of North Cotabato.

    He was also a sports columnist of tabloid Tempo and occasionally writes a column for The Manila Times.

    Interior Secretary Esmael “Mike” Sueno also served as governor of South Cotabato while incoming Defense Secretary Miguel Delfin Lorenzana, a retired Army general, is from the town of Banga in South Cotabato.

    On the other hand, Ricardo Halad, who was named chairman of the NDRRMC, comes from Parang, Maguindanao.

    Halad is a former seminarian of the Archdiocese of Cotabato seminary.

    Jaime Morente, who was named commissioner of the Bureau of Immigration, is from Midsayap, North Cotabato, while Isidro Lapeña, who was appointed director of the Philippine Drug Enforcement Agency, was the former police director of Cotabato City.

    Unfilled posts
    Duterte earlier offered four departments to the Communist Party of the Philippines– Agrarian Reform, Environment and Natural Resources, Labor and Employment and Social Welfare and Development.

    On Thursday night, the Davao City mayor said the Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR) post will remain his “concession to the Left” while he is reviewing nominees to the Tourism and Health departments.

    Duterte is yet to name the heads of the Department of Trade and Industry, Commission on Higher Education, Technical Education and Skills Development Authority, Presidential Legislative Liaison Office, Housing and Urban Coordinating Council, the newly formed Department of Information and Communications Technology, Metropolitan Manila Development Authority, National Anti-Poverty Commission, Mindanao Development Authority, Office of the Political Adviser, Office of the National Commission on Muslim Filipinos, Government Commission for GOCCs (Government-Owned and -Controlled Corporations), Climate Change Commission and Commission on Filipinos Overseas.


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.


    1. Danny Bautista on

      President Duterte should create the following Offices:
      1.) Davao & Mindanao Office Of The President
      2.) Mactan & East Visayas Office of The President
      3.) Palawan & West Visayas Office of the President

      After his oath-taking on 30 June 2016, he must lessen his stay in Manila. He should be holding his official duties more in Davao Office to maintain his health and perspective.

      The 3 additional locations of the Presidential Office must be be developed as main Regional Offices for all Department and Agencies. Examples are the regional offices of the following:
      1) GSIS, SSS, & Bangko Sentral, Customs, BIR, etc & Department of Finance
      2) Presidential Guard, PAGASA
      3) Department of Education, Higher Education Authority, Technical & Vocational Education
      4) Regional Satellites of National Universities
      5.) International Airport
      6.) Pier and Ports Authority
      7) Immigration and Deportation Department
      8) PNP & Federal Police
      9.) Supreme Court
      10) National/Federal Bureau of Investigations
      11) ICT and Technology
      12) Manufacturing Hubs
      13) Philippine Navy , Marines and Airforce
      14) Housing Department
      15) Others

    2. Leodegardo Pruna on

      Congratulations to the new appointees. Much hope and anticipation of success are meant for the new administration. God bless the Philippines.