‘Eat Bulaga,’ ‘Heneral Luna’ top Tatt Awards

Globe Tattoo Director Ray Guinoo

Globe Tattoo Director Ray Guinoo

Ten Philippine online personalities and movements were recognized by Globe Telecom’s mobile broadband brand Tattoo, in the 2015 edition of its annual Tatt Awards.


The circle of winners, dubbed as “The Great 10,” were selected from over thousands of entries submitted through public nominations. The nominations were screened by the Tatt Council comprised of TV host Daphne Osena-Paez; Emmy award-winning producer Mike Carandang; environmental advocate Anna Oposa; TV host, editor, and author Bianca Gonzalez-Intal; Filipino musician Jim Paredes; sports host Jinno Rufino; senator and social entrepreneur Bam Aquino; technopreneur and Xurpas CEO and founder Nix Nolled;, and filmmaker Quark Henares.

Daphne Oseña-Paez

Daphne Oseña-Paez

The emerging winners of the social media search were proudly from Philippine show business, for topping the Great 10 in the first and second spots were long-running noontime television show Eat Bulaga and box-office period film Heneral Luna. Eat Bulaga host Paolo Ballesteros also made it to the eighth spot.

Meanwhile, the rest of the winners were as follows for the third to the seventh spot, respectively, traffic and transportation social media site Top Gear PH, poet Juan Miguel Severo, online movement #SaveMaryJane, multi-hyphenated digital author Marcelo Santos 3rd, and journalist and host James Deakin; and for the ninth and 10th spots, Instagram personality Jelito de Leon, and go-to local trivia page FilipiKnow.

Ray Guinoo, director for Mobile Broadband of Tattoo shared, “The diversity in this year’s Great 10 is a testament to the power of Filipino talent globally. Not only do we have locally-appreciated social media personalities, content, businesses, or artists in this list, but also true global phenomena that continue to make their mark all over the world.”

‘Eat Bulaga’s Therese Diaz and Baby Baste

‘Eat Bulaga’s Therese Diaz and Baby Baste

He added, “They serve as examples for all of us and we at Globe are very proud to be able to give them a unique kind of recognition away from just their fame and popularity—a recognition of real excellence and greatness.”

Unlike in previous Tatt Awards, this year’s nominations were not divided into specific categories. Any person or group could be nominated so long as the nominee created an impact through quality content that made a mark on a greater majority. The nominee must have also used social media to connect with the rest of the world, thus amplifying and sharing the work done.

Shortlisted as finalists were freelance blogger and entrepreneur Abbey Sy, rising musician Clara Benin, Instagram personality Kimi Juan, online comedienne Maria Sofia Love, Sen. Miriam Defensor Santiago for her book Stupid is Forever, blogger and PWD-friendliness advocate Naprey Almario, DJ and online influencer Patty Tiu, box-office flick That Thing Called Tadhana, online literary aggregator Utot Catalog by Rod Marmol, and YouTube personality Wil Dasovich.

‘Heneral Luna’s production team

‘Heneral Luna’s production team

According to Tatt Council member Daphne Osena-Paez, “I had a lot of fun getting to know the work of our country’s top change-makers and most inspiring sites.”

Bianca Gonzalez-Intal shared, “It’s my third year to be in the Tatt Council, and every year, I’m amazed by the new personalities taking social media by storm. Part of the Great 10 or not, all our finalists are definitely winners for making an impact on people’s lives.”

Sen. Bam Aquino concluced, “The Tatt Awards winners and finalists show how new ways of communicating can have a profound impact on society no matter what field you are in. These personalities prove that we truly are in an exciting new age armed with the power of social media.”


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.