Echavez, Zamora post wins in PSL tourney opener


Philippine Swimming League (PSL) President Susan Papa and Secretary General Maria Susan Benasa pose with the record breakers in the 72nd Philippine Swimming League (PSL) Leg series on Saturday at the Diliman Preparatory School swimming pool in Quezon City. Contributed photo

University of San Carlos’ Loren Dale Echavez and University of Santo Tomas’ Sean Terence Zamora led the opening day winners in the 72nd Philippine Swimming League (PSL) Leg series on Saturday at the Diliman Preparatory School swimming pool in Quezon City.

Echavez topped the girls’ 17-over 100-meter freestyle in record fashion of one minute and 1.20 second. She has so far earned a total of 620 FINA (International Swimming Federation) points.

Zamora, for his part, also broke the standing record in the boys’ 14 years 100m free in 56.25 seconds to raise his FINA points to 548.

“PSL started the nomination process for the 60 candidates for Gwangju. Korea. In our participation at Gwangju, Korea it was a mere experience for these swimmers – most of them do not even know what it was and thèy were shocked to watch it and was delighted,” said PSL President Susan Papa.

The PSL uses FINA point system to determine the two Most Outstanding Swimmer—one boy and one girl—awardees in this edition.

“I never thought it was that beautiful we were able to watch during the 72nd PSL leg series competition the Opening ceremony of the Kazan, Russia.  But nothing is too late just like what PSL Pres. Susan Papa said is a life time opportunity and experience for me,” Said Echavez, a former multi-gold medalist in the Palarong Pambansa.

Darling of the Crowd Micaela Jasmine Mojdeh also made her presence felt by nailing two meet records—girls’ 8years 100m breaststroke (1:45.50) and 100m freestyle (1:23.07)—so as Wesleyan College of Manila tanker Angel Medrano, who broke the girls’ 15-16 100m freestyle (1:04.93) and 100m breaststroke (1:23.65) marks.

“The Universiade was unknown to most of the swimmers.  We are not sending participants for long time time 2011. Even if you are the best swimmer in the event and did not participate in the nomination process, you will be last in queue,” added Papa.

The other record breakers were Marc Bryan Dula (boys’ 7 years 100m Individual Medley, 1:35.19), Charize Esmero (girls’ 12 100m free, 1:06.28), Daryl Concepcion (boys’ 13 100m breast, 1:17.12) and Drew Benett Magbag (boys’ 15-16 100m breast, 1:10.59).

“This is the best we can give to the swimmers to be treated at Universiade the best can by organizers in any event. The one’s going are truly blessed,” stressed Papa.

Also winning gold medals were Kyla Soguilon, Allyza Palermo, Rizalino Cortez 3rd, Lance Cruz, Lee Cabral, Janine Consul, Micaela Guzman, Rafael Lentejas 3rd, Chloe Fabic, Franz Joves, Mary Julian Sulita, Patricia Aguilar, Jose Rommel Corpuz, Sean Cruz, Antonio Aquino 4th, Jux Solita, Pia Cardinal, Cynthjune Goden, Kim Endoso, Micaela Villaraza, Samuel Ongjoco, Adrienne Macapagal, Trix Dustin Evangelista, Rein Cueto and Joshua Camacho.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.