• Estrada’s men dominate Manila council


    The 36-member Sangguniang Panglunsod of the City of Manila is dominated by pro-Estrada councilors as 29 candidates who ran under Pwersa ng Masang Pilipino (PMP) won the local elections. Only seven councilors from the opposition won the polls – Bobby Lim, Nina Dela Cruz, and Peter Ong (District 1); Rodolfo Laxamana (District 2); Bimbo Quintos (District 4); Irwin Tieng (District 5); and Christian Uy (District 6). Laxamana said he and the six other opposition councilors will cooperate with Estrada’s vision of a corruption-free, poverty-free Manila and his aspiration to bring back the city’s old glory and grandeur. “Now that the elections is over, we should put aside politics. As members of the Sangguniang Panglunsod, it is our sworn duty to support the administration of our duly elected Mayor Estrada,” Laxamana said. Estrada, in return, welcomed the seven opposition councilors’ support.


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.