Eye care services pilot in Iloilo


ILOILO CITY: The province of Iloilo and three other provinces were selected as pilot areas for the implementation of Community Eye Health Program (CEHP) by the Department of Health. The CEHP was initiated in Nueva Ecija, Iloilo, Occidental Mindoro and Cavite late last year and expanded to the poorest provinces like Eastern Samar, Leyte, and Surigao in coordination with non-government organizations. Health Secretary Paulyn Jean Rosell-Ubial cited the need to integrate eye care into public health programs at the local government unit level for continued advocacy and promotion of comprehensive eye care with focus on avoidable blindness.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.