• F2 Logistics, Foton vie for PSL crown in do-or-die Game 3


    F2 Logistics and Foton will be disputing the crown in the do-or-die Game 3 of the 2016 Philippine Superliga (PSL) All-Filipino Conference women’s volleyball tournament finals at The Arena in San Juan City today.

    The Game 3 is set at 5 p.m. with both teams going all-out to claim the crown in the second conference of the season.

    The F2 Logistics Cargo Movers took the series opener via a nerve-wracking 25-20, 25-14, 9-25, 20-25, 15-10 win but the Foton Tornadoes mounted a strong comeback in Game 2 with an 18-25, 25-17, 25-22, 25-18 victory.

    Foton, the reigning Grand Prix champion, will be relying on veteran setter Rhea Dimaculangan, who dished out 36 excellent sets mostly on 6-foot-5 middle blocker Jaja Santiago and open hitter Cherry Ann Rondina.

    Santiago led all scorers with 14 kills, three blocks and two aces while Rondina contributed 15 markers for Tornadoes.

    “We were finally able to solve our problems in Game 1. But everything will be worthless if we don’t win Game 1. We have to be careful because F2 Logistics is such a strong team who can bounce mightily after a bad loss. We have to be at our best for one last time this conference,” said Foton coach Vilet Ponce-de Leon.

    Maika Ortiz, Patty Orendain, Angeli Araneta and EJ Laure will also play major role as well as libero Bia General who will handle the floor defense of Foton.

    “We’ve already been here before. We’ve already done it. And we will be doing this again. We know that the series is not yet over. We just need to focus on Game 3 and play our best,” added Ponce-de Leon.

    The Cargo Movers, on the other hand, must also focus on reception to execute their plays.

    “We have to address these issues in practice. We played an average good game, but Foton played great. They cut down their errors and did a good job hitting Ara from the service line. We have to improve that if we want to win the title,” stressed F2 Logistics assistant coach Benson Bocboc.

    Leading the Cargo Movers are Rookie Draft top pick Ara Galang, Mika Reyes, Aby Marano, Cha Cruz, Dawn Macandili and Kim Fajardo.


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.