Facts and figures about Nepal


The Himalayan mountain range

Nepal is officially called the Federal Democratic Republic of Nepal (Sanghiya Loktantrik Ganatantra Nepal. A landlocked central Himalayan country, it is divided into seven states, 75 districts and 744 local units including four metropolitan areas.

It is home to 29.2 million people, with 1.1 million population in the capital city of Kathmandu. Nepal is the 93rd largest country in the world in terms of area. It ranks 11th in the world for vulnerability to earthquakes.

Although bordering China in the north and India in the south, east and west, Nepal has never been a colony of a larger country. In fact, it served as buffer state between Imperial China and Colonial India.

Its geography is diverse, including fertile plains, subalpine forested hills and eight of the world’s tallest mountains, including Mount Everest, the highest point on Earth.

It is a multiethnic nation with Nepali as the official language.

Visa Requirements
A valid passport and one passport-size photo with a light background.

Tourist visas are issued for multiple entry up to 90 days with corresponding fees – 15 days, US$25 or equivalent to convertible currency; 30 days, US$40; and 90 days, US$100.

Tourists can stay for a maximum of 150 days in a visa year (January 1 to December 31).


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.