FEU claims sixth crown in UAAP juniors football


FAR Eastern University (FEU)-Diliman annexed its sixth straight championship with a 6-1 rout of Ateneo de Manila University in the University Athletic Association of the Philippines (UAAP) Season 78 juniors football tournament at the Moro Lorenzo Field.

The Baby Tamaraws, behind season Most Valuable Player Kieth Absalon, finished their perfect season by going undefeated in seven matches.

Christian Bacara struck five minutes after kickoff while Darryl Aban doubled FEU’s lead with a 12th minute goal. Miguel Roque pulled one back for the Blue Eaglets in the 30th minute before Chester Gio Pabualan restored the Baby Tamaraws’ two-goal cushion eight minutes later. It was an all-FEU-Diliman show since then as Absalon (75th), John Villaseñor (85th) and Josh Abundo (89th) also delivered goals. Pabualan, who scored seven goals this season, won the Best Striker and Best Midfielder honors, while the Rookie of the Year went to his teammate Roberto Ripoll, who is also the league’s Best Defender.

The Baby Tamaraws topped the elimination round table with a maximum 18 points. Ateneo’s Gavin Rosario was named Best Goalkeeper while De La Salle-Zobel took the Fair Play Award.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.