• Finally a gold!



    DanceSport brought home gold and bronze medals at the recent Asian Indoor Games in Incheon, Korea.

    It was the only sport that produced gold for the Philippines out of the six sports

    that participated in the Asian Indoor games. Bagging the honor were Gerald Jamili and Cherry Clarice Parcon in the Latin Jive Solo Dance

    and Bronze in the Latin 5 Dances Category.

    The other athletes who all made it to the finals were Michael Angelo Marquez and Stephanie Sabalo who both got fourth place in the Latin Chachacha Solo and Latin Paso Doble Solo; German Enriquez who got the fifth place for both the Standard 5 Dance Category and the Standard Foxtrot Solo; Tristan John Ducay and Willanne Rose Ducay who got sixth place in the Standard Solo Tango and seventh place in the Standard Quickstep.

    DanceSport Officials who joined the Philippine DanceSport Team were DSCPI Chairman Atty. Noel Laman, Sports Director Emma Nieto and Treasurer Gloria Alcala.

    These athletes are also preparing for the Asian DanceSport Championship which will be held in Nanjing, China on November 2 and 3.

    Congratulations to all of them. You make the Philippines and the DanceSport Council of the Philippines proud. More medals to come.
    Before the Korean indoor games, the DanceSport Council of the Philippines (DSCPI) staged the Midyear Ranking and Competition. More than 156 couples in all categories in the Latin and Standard events together with the Wheelchair Dancing participated. Foreign adjudicators headed by World DanceSport Federation Sports Director Marco Sietas as chairman. Earlier, Sietas conducted the national adjudicator’s congress and examinations and produced six local adjudicators. Emmanuel Reyes for license A in Ten Dance, and Ana Dulce Yango for license B in Standard, Filomena Salvador, Marvin Marquez, Maira Rosete-Benales and Edgardo Borromeo.

    During the competition Sietas inducted the 22 Members of the Professional Division of the DSCPI namely; Genice Marquez, Faye Salvador, Richard Obong, Emmanuel Reyes, Rebecca De Leon, Marianne Camacho, Romel Olson, Joel Ocsena, Edwin Bonus, Cristina Santos, Zenaida Ruiz, Ronnie Steeve Vergara, Charlea Lagaras-Vergara, Maira Rosete-Bernales, Michael Mendoza, Ana Dulce Yango, Edgardo Borromeo, Marvin Marquez, Eroles Jeneveive, Ana Marie Bautista, Reggie Perico, Crisaldo Rendon and Geraldine Darvin.

    The next event will be the yearend National Championship to be held at the Ninoy Aquino Stadium at Malate, Manila on October 12.

    Finally, the international open friendship wheelchair dancesport competition will be held simultaneously during the national championship participated in by wheelchair couples from Italy, The Netherlands, Japan, Taiwan and the Philippines.

    Mabuhay ang dancesport!


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.