• Ford Chip Ganassi Racing to use EcoBoost-powered prototypes for Rolex 24 Hours


    E4---Ford-Gnassi20160112Seven-time IMSA Champions and six-time and defending Rolex 24 At Daytona Winners Ford Chip Ganassi Racing (FCGR) announced last week it will field two Prototype class entries at the Rolex 24 At Daytona in 2016. The addition of the No. 1 and No. 2 Ford EcoBoost Prototypes brings the FCGR car count to a team-record four entries for the race after previously announcing a pair of Ford GTs last month. Partnership details and car liveries for the two Prototype entries will be announced at a later date.

    Chip Ganassi Racing Teams’ (CGRT) four-time and reigning Verizon IndyCar Series Champion Scott Dixon joins teammates Tony Kanaan (2004 Champion and 2013 Indianapolis 500 Winner), Kyle Larson (NASCAR Sprint Cup Series 2014 Rookie of the Year) and Jamie McMurray (NASCAR Sprint Cup Series 2010 Daytona 500 and Brickyard 400 Winner) in the No. 2 car to defend their 2015 win, while FCGR newcomer and FIA European Formula 3 Championship race winner Lance Stroll will join former Formula One driver Alex Wurz, reigning WEC (World Endurance Championship) LMP1 Champion Brendon Hartley and three-time FIA World Touring Car Champion Andy Priaulx in the No. 1 machine.

    The 2016 FCGR Rolex 24 At Daytona driver roster is an impressive group of international racing champions representing two Indianapolis 500 titles (Dixon-2008, Kanaan-2013), Daytona 500 and Brickyard 400 wins (McMurray-2010), five Verizon IndyCar Series Championships (Dixon-2003, 2008, 2013, 2015 and Kanaan-2004), five Rookie of the Year Winners in their respective series (Kanaan-1999, Dixon-2001, McMurray-2003, Larson-2014, Stroll-2008), and two wins at the 24 Hours of Le Mans (Wurz-1996, 2009).

    FCGR has the greatest stretch in Rolex 24 At Daytona history highlighted by six wins and two second-place finishes from 2006-2015. The team also has seven championships (2004, 2006, 2008, 2010, 2011, 2012, and 2013) and 46 race wins to its credit since its introduction to sportscar racing in 2004. Chip Ganassi is the only team owner in history to win three straight Rolex 24 At Daytona events (2006-2008).

    “We’re proud to have the defending Prototype Champions from last year, along with the excitement worldwide with the reintroduction of the Ford GT. I think we’ve built a very strong effort for the 2016 race in the Prototype class, which gives us two more solid chances to get to Victory Lane,” said Chip Ganassi, owner, Chip Ganassi Racing Teams.


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.