• Former PLO champs head ICTSI LPGT cast


    Four former Philippine Ladies Open (PLO) winners, led by three-time champion Mary Grace Estuesta, banner the elite cast chasing history in the first-ever International Container Terminal Services, Incorporated (ICTSI) Ladies Phi­lippine Golf Tour (LPGT), which unwraps on Wednesday at the tough The Country Club layout in Laguna.

    Although they are far from top form owing to long layoff and lack of competitive local tournaments, the former PLO champions are thrilled over the up­coming circuit, which will feature five 54-hole tournaments for its inaugural staging at the country’s champion­ship courses

    “So thankful to the organizers for making it happen,” said Estuesta, who last competed on the Asian Ladies Tour nine years ago.

    Heidi Chua, who dominated the field to capture the Philippine Ladies Open crown at Manila Golf Club in 2002, also expressed her excitement over playing competitive golf again and vowed to be in top shape right in the kickoff leg of the P2.5 million circuit sponsored by the ICTSI.

    Like Estuesta, Chua also campaigned on the Asian Ladies Tour although she has concentrated on teaching young golfers through her Fungolf program at Wack Wack the last few years.

    Carmelette Villaroman, the Phl Ladies Open champion in 1995 and coach of the ICTSI ladies amateur team, and 2005 winner Jayvie Agojo are also in the fold, both upbeat of their chances in the P500,000 event organized by Pilipinas Golf Tournaments, Inc.

    Joining them are former top amateurs Dottie Ardina, Sarah Ababa, Red Bareng and Lovelynn Guioguio, Anya Tanpinco, Sylvia Torres, Eva Miñoza, Lucy Lan­dicho, Lina de Guzman, Marjorie Pulumbarit, Jan Punzalan and Tracy Que, wife of three-time Asian Tour champion Angelo Que.

    Sisters Nikki and Sam Bruce, who topped the recent ICTSI LPGT Qualifier at Cangolf’s South course, lead the amateur cast in the event, along with ICTSI team mainstays Princess Superal, Pauline del Rosario, Sofia Chabon and former PLO champion Cyna Rodriguez, Miya Legaspi, Yuka Sasu, Daniella Uy, Annika Cedo, and Nicole Constantino.


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.