• Foton names 4 more addition to pool


    Foton named Aby Maraño of F2 Logistics, Jen Reyes of Petron, Jovelyn Gonzaga and Rachel Anne Daquis of RC Cola-Army as the latest addition to the Philippine team that will be competing against foreign players in the Asian Volleyball Confederation (AVC) Asian Women’s Club Championship scheduled September 3 to 11 at the Mall of Asia Arena in Pasay City.

    Daquis, Maraño and Reyes were members of the Petron squad that saw action in the 2015 edition of the tournament organized by the AVC.

    Gonzaga, on the other hand, was a member of the national team that competed in the 28th Southeast Asian Games in Singapore last year.

    “Their experience in international competitions will be a major boost to our team,” said Foton team manager Alvin Lu.

    The team will be under the tutelage of coach Villet Ponce-de Leon.

    According to Lu, the four players have already reported for training and will be joining the group in a training camp in Bangkok, Thailand.

    “This shows how serious we are in forming a very competitive team. We will be playing before our countrymen, we want to make sure that our team will put up a gallant stand,” added Lu.

    The Philippine Super Liga stars will join Ariel Usher and Lindsay Stalzer, both American imports, and locals Jaja Santiago, Angeli Araneta, Patty Orendain and Ivy Perez in an 18-member pool.

    The other Foton team members are Bia General, Rhea Dimaculangan, Maika Ortiz, Kara Acevedo, EJ Laure, Cherry Rondina and Carol Cerveza.

    However, Lu said the lineup would be reduced to a final 12 after their Thailand camp.
    “So we expect everybody to show up and give their best because representing the country is a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity,” said Lu.

    The Foton Tornadoes are grouped in Pool A with Lien Viet Post Bank of Vietnam and the Hong Kong national team.

    The Tornadoes are bracing against top teams including Bangkok Glass of Thailand, April 25 of North Korea, Sarmayeh Bank of Iran, Hisamitsu Springs of Japan, Zhetysu Almaty of Kazakhstan, Jakarta Electric PLN of Indonesia, Taiwan Power of Chinese Taipei and Bayi Army of China.

    The Philippines had previously hosted the meet in 2006 (women’s) and 2014 (men’s). The country is yet to win a title in the tournament.


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.