Four Pinoys gain Paralympic Games slots


Four differently-abled Filipino athletes have so far earned slots to the 2016 Summer Paralympic Games scheduled on September 7 to 18 in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.

Veteran international campaigner Adeline Dumapong-Ancheta of powerlifting will be leading the lean but mean Philippine delegation to the quadrennial meet.

Dumapong-Ancheta has delivered the country’s lone medal in the Paralympics when she copped a bronze medal in the women’s -82.5-kilogram event in the 2000 edition held in Sydney, Australia.

She lifted 110 kgs. to finish third behind eventual gold medalist Emma Brown of Great Britain and silver winner Hend Elaty of Egypt.

Joining her in the delegation are Asean Para Games multi-gold medalists Josephine Medina (table tennis), Ernie Gawilan (swimming) and Jerrold Pete Mangliwan (athletics).

Medina, the delegation’s flag bearer in the 2012 London Paralympics, recently won a silver medal in the 2016 Romanian International Table Tennis Open held in Cluj Napoca in Romania.

The seasoned spinner almost won a bronze medal in the women’s singles of the London Paralympics.

Medina made it to the semifinals as she placed second in the group stage with a 2-1 record. She defeated Jane Rodrigues of Brazil (3-0) and Aida Dahlen of Norway (3-1) then lost to Mao Jiangdan of China (0-3).

Medina then succumbed to Thu Kamkasomphou of France in the semifinals (0-3) and Josefin Abrahamsoon of Sweden in the battle-for-bronze match (0-3) to finish fourth overall.

For their parts, Gawilan and Mangliwan both won two gold medals in the 2015 Asean Para Games in Singapore. Gawilan topped the men’s 200m Individual Medley and 400m freestyle while Mangliwan ruled the men’s 100m run and 200m run.

The Paralympics will be held two weeks after the regular Olympic Games slated on August 5 to 21. The venues in the Rio Games will be the same place to be used in the Paralympics.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.