Fresh international music in the loop



With the advent of technology, every music lover is blessed to be able to listen to international tracks upon release whether the single is from the United States, the United Kingdom or any other territory. Music indeed has become universally accessible as it should.

New Music Fridays – with its feature and playlist on digital platforms as well as radio stations and music channels – has certainly been helpful in delivering these choices to Music Geeks around the world, and today’s column lists down the highly recommended new EPs and singles that are worthy to be put on loop.

Coldplay – ‘Kaleidoscope’ EP
Recent Manila visitor Coldplay comes out with a new five-track “Kaleidoscope” EP which is out now to download and stream. The CD version of the EP will follow on August 4.


The band has also just premiered a new lyric video for “Miracles (Someone Special),” a collaboration with Detroit rapper Big Sean which is included in the EP. Produced by the band’s long-term collaborators Rik Simpson and Daniel Green, together with Bill Rahko, the EP features a new live version of Coldplay’s hit single with The Chainsmokers, “Something Just Like This,” recorded in Tokyo in April.

Kaleidoscope EP is the sister release to the band’s acclaimed “A Head Full Of Dreams” album, which has sold more than five million copies since its December 2015 release. The four new songs were recorded in the band’s on-the-road studio during the tour.

Demi Lovato – ‘Sorry Not Sorry’
Since releasing her last album “Confident” back in 2015, Demi Lovato is in a battle-mode as she returns with a new single “Sorry Not Sorry.” Produced by Zaire Koalo, Trevor Brown and Warren “Oak” Felder, she sings “Payback is a bad bitch/And baby I’m the baddest/You fuckin’ with a savage/Baby, I’m sorry (I’m not sorry).” According to her post on Twitter, “This is an anthem for anyone who’s ever been hated on and has risen above it and come out from the other side like a fucking savage!”

The girl-power anthem is the first song lifted from her upcoming sixth album due out later this year, a set which should be “more soulful” with R&B touches to it.

The Vamps – ‘Night & Day’
Pop rock British band The Vamps recently released their third studio album “Night & Day.” For release in two parts, “Night Edition” just came out, and the “Day Edition” in December.

In the Philippines, four editions of the album highlighting each band member—Brad, James, Connor and Tristan—have been released containing same tracklist and CD, DVD, a member booklet and member poster.

“All Night,” a collaboration with Norwegian DJ Matoma, was released as the first single of the album in October last year. It peaked at number 24 on the UK Singles Chart and was certified gold in the country. “Middle of the Night,” a collaboration with Danish DJ Martin Jensen, was released as the second single of the album in April 2017 debuting at number 44 on the UK Singles Chart.

Echosmith – ‘Goodbye’
Best known for their hit song “Cool Kids,” American pop band Echosmith is back with “Goodbye.”

After Jamie left the band to focus on raising his baby, the Sierota siblings have been working hard on new music and are back proudly with their first single.

Featuring Sydney’s sweet and smooth vocal, an equally catchy melody and chorus the lyrics say, “Try not to let the burn become a scar/What’s left of me is only broken parts/You take the pretty and color it dark/My only grievance is a broken heart/When you finally find yourself/Tell him I said, tell him I said/When you finally find yourself/Tell him I said, tell him I said/Goodbye/Goodbye.”


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.