FULL LIST: Winners of Palanca Awards 2016


Fifty-one writers have been honored in the Carlos Palanca Memorial Awards for Literature (Palanca Awards) held at The Peninsula Manila Rigodon Ballroom on Friday.

Keeping its passion to give recognition to Filipino writers, as well as to nurture the country’s literature, this is the 66th year of the awards. The organizers received entries in 20 categories (minus the Novel and Nobela categories), which were judged by 57 respected writers, practitioners, and academics.

Antonio “Tony” Mabesa, professor emeritus at the University of the Philippines, was honored with the Gawad Dangal ng Lahi for his contribution in the field. Mabesa’s six-decade career as a multi-awarded actor, director, theater artist, and teacher, is what made him worthy of this recognition.

Named after the businessman and philanthropist Don Carlos Palanca Sr., the Palanca Awards remains as the largest literary award-giving body in the country, which many young writers aspire for.

Winners of the 66th Carlos Palanca Awards for Literature
Kabataan Division: Kabataan Sanaysay
1st prize: Mikaela Lu Apollo
2nd prize: Harvey D. Lor
3rd prize: Jason Renz D. Barrios

Kabataan Essay
1st prize: Jill Esther V. Parreno
2nd prize: Dawn Gabriela Emmanuele G. Dela Rosa
3rd prize: Alpheus Matthew D. Llantero

Filipino Division: Maikling Kwento
1st Prize: Orlando A. Oliveros
2nd Prize: Emmanuel T. Barrameda
3rd Prize: Paolo Miguel G. Tiausas

Maikling Kuwentong Pambata
1st Prize: Annalyn Leyesa-Go
2nd Prize: Manuelita Contreras-Cabrera
3rd Prize: Eugene Y. Evasco

1st Prize: Christopher S. Rosales
2nd Prize: Eugene Y.  Evasco
3rd Prize: Segundo Matias

1st Prize: Mark Anthony S. Angeles
2nd Prize: Louie Jon Agustin Sanchez
3rd Prize: Allan John Andres

Tula Para Sa Mga Bata
1st Prize: German Villanueva Gervacio
2nd Prize: John Patrick F. Solano
3rd Prize: Vijae Orquia Alquisola

Dulang May Isang Yugto
1st Prize: Real Name: Miguel Antonio Alfredo V. Luarca Literary Name: Guelan Varela-Luarca
2nd Prize: Mark Adrian Crisostomo Ho
3rd Prize: Ma. Cecilia C. De La Rosa

Dulang Ganap Ang Haba
1st Prize: None
2nd Prize: None
3rd Prize: Full name: Carlito P. Casaje Literary Name: Lito Casaje

Dulang Pampelikula
1st Prize Jimmy F. Flores
2nd Prize Ericdante Cabahug
3rd Prize Ymmanwel Rico Provinio

Regional Division
Short Story – Cebuano
1st Prize CD Borden
2nd Prize Gumer M. Rafanan
3rd Prize Manuel M. Avenido, Jr.

Short Story – Hiligaynon
1st Prize Ritchie D. Pagunsan
2nd Prize Early Sol A. Gadong
3rd Prize Alain Russ G. Dimzon

Short Story – Ilokano
1st Prize NO WINNER
2nd Prize NO WINNER
3rd Prize Roy V. Aragon


Short Story
1st Prize Richard C. Cornelio
2nd Prize Larissa Mae R. Suarez
3rd Prize Michael Abigail Tiu Tan

Short Story for Children
1st Prize NO WINNER
2nd Prize NO WINNER
3rd Prize Joemar L. Furigay

1st Prize Joel Vega
2nd Prize Hammed Q. Bolotaolo
3rd Prize Maria Roselle G. Umlas

1st Prize Ana Marie K. Lacuesta
2nd Prize Dr. Merlinda Bobis
3rd Prize Angela Gabrielle Fabunan

Poetry Written for Children
1st Prize NO WINNER
2nd Prize Jaime An Lim
3rd Prize Patricia Celina A. Ngo

One-act Play
1st Prize Peter Solis Nery
2nd Prize Robert Arlo De Guzman
3rd Prize Patrick James Manongdo Valera

Full-length PLAY
1st Prize Joachim Emilio B. Antonio
2nd Prize NO WINNER
3rd Prize Michael Aaron C. Gomez


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

1 Comment

  1. Congratulations to this year’s awardees! A reminiscent of my former Sillimanian professors way back in college who’ve made an indelible contributions in Philippine Literature the likes of Dr. Leoncio P. Deriada, a Palanca Hall of Fame awardee, the late Dr. Edith L. Tiempo, National Artist for Literature…to name but a few. I think some of the winners of the Palanca Awards attended the Silliman National Writers Workshop, the longest-running creative writing workshop in Asia. It is commonly regarded as the most prestigious one in the entire region, having been able to produce many of the most influential and renowned names in Philippine literature.

    Practically, all Filipino writers of any importance have joined the Silliman Writers Workshop at one time or another, either as fellows, lecturers, or panelists. Being a pioneer, the Silliman Writers Workshop occupies a premier position in the history of creative writing in the Philippines.

    With the workshop’s integrity and tradition over the years, it has become a rite of passage for the country’s finest writers.