• GMA acquires PH franchise for ‘Lip Sync Battle’

    Michael V

    Michael V

    AN exciting development on local television is GMA Network’s announcement this past week that they are all set to produce the Philippine version of America’s highly popular original series Lip Sync Battle.

    Lip Sync Battle, which premiered on US TV in April 2015, has already quickly became a viral sensation what with A-list Hollywood celebrities joining the show, such as Anne Hathaway dressed up as Miley Cyrus and lip-syncing “Wrecking Ball;” Dwayne ‘The Rock’ Johnson doing “Staying Alive;” John Legend with “Can’t Touch This;” and Justin Bieber impersonating Ozzy Osbourne with “Big Girls Don’t Cry.”

    Hosted by two-time Grammy Award winner LL Cool J. and supermodel Chrissy Teigen as color commentator, Lip Sync Battle has quickly become part of pop culture in less than a year on air.

    In the Philippines, GMA Network acquired the rights to produce Lip Sync Battle for a February 27 premiere. Comedian Michael V. and TV host-actress Iya Villania held a press conference where they expressed excitement over being part of the local version of such a worldwide hit.

    Iya Villana

    Iya Villana

    They also explained that each episode will pitch two GMA celebrities against each other in a lip sync battle for two rounds. Round 1 is the “Strip Down,” and Round 2 is the “Full Blown Concert.” The celebrities will have a free hand on choosing the songs they will “perform.” The crowd will then determine the winner of the battle after the two rounds have been completed. The episode winner will then move on to compete with the reigning Lip Sync Champion and wear the Lip Sync Champion Belt until defeated.

    The first pair of GMA stars who will go head to head for the show’s premiere is no less than prime time favorites Tom Rodriguez and Dennis Trillo, who earned the monicker “TomDen” during the height of their hit drama series My Husband’s Lover in 2013.

    Lip Sync Battle Philippines is under the direction of Rico Gutierrez.


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.