Good governance awarded by bourse


THE Philippine Stock Exchange Inc. (PSE) has recognized publicly listed companies and trading participants for excellence in corporate governance, handing out citations during the 4th PSE Bell Awards at Makati Shangri-La Hotel late Wednesday.

The companies that bagged the 2015 Bell Awards were Aboitiz Equity Ventures Inc., China Banking Corp., Globe Telecom Inc., Philex Mining Corp., and Philippine Long Distance Telephone Co.

Among the trading participants, the winners were Credit Suisse Securities (Philippines) Inc., Deutsche Regis Partners Inc., Maybank ATR Kim Eng Securities Inc., Macquarie Capital Securities (Philippines) Inc., and R.S. Lim & Co. Inc.

“Behind every bell awardee is a deliberate and conscious decision and effort from its board of directors down to its management and staff to instill good governance in its processes and practices and in upholding the interest of all its stakeholders including minority interests,” PSE Chairman Jose Pardo noted in his opening remarks during the awarding ceremony.

“It is encouraging to know that many are with us in our advocacy. Strengthening a culture of good corporate governance in the capital market and in our country is a collaborative effort of the PSE, the government, the listed companies and the trading participants,” PSE President and Chief Executive Officer Hans Sicat said.

Among the finalists were Ayala Land Inc., Manila Electric Co., SM Investments Corp., Cebu Property Ventures & Development Corp. and Philippine National Bank for companies. Trading participant UBS Securities Philippines Inc. was also a finalist.

The award is given based on the assessment of corporate governance practices of more than 200 listed companies.

This year’s panel of judges was headed by Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) Chairperson Teresita J. Herbosa, Capital Markets Integrity Corp. President Cornelio Gison, Ambassador of the Republic of Singapore to the Philippines H.E. Kok Li Peng, Philippine Institute for Development Studies President Gilberto Llanto, De La Salle University President and Chancellor Br. Raymundo Suplido, FSC, and National Treasurer Roberto Tan.

Launched by the PSE in 2012, the award aims to boost investor interest and confidence in the Philippine stock market by encouraging publicly listed firms and trading participants to adhere to high standards of corporate governance.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.