Heritage month to end in Cebu City


After a month of heritage-related activities, the National Commission for Culture and the Arts (NCCA), thru its Subcommission on Cultural Heritage (SCH), will cap the festive National Heritage Month on May 31 at Cebu City.

A Eucharistic Mass to led by Cebu Archbishop Jose Palma, D.D. will be concelebrated at 5:30 p.m. at the Pilgrim Center of the Basilica Minore del Santo Nino de Cebu. This will be followed by closing ceremonies at 6:30 p.m.

Expected to perform during the program are Rev. Fr. Jonas Mijares, Basilica Rector, the San Diego Dance Group, University of the Visayas Chorale, and the Basakanon Performing Group.

Keynote speeches will also be delivered by Gov. Hilario Davide 3rd of Cebu, Mayor Michael Rama of Cebu City, and NCCA Chairman Felipe de Leon Jr.

The National Heritage Month will then be officially closed by SCH Commissioner Rev. Fr. Harold Ll. Rentoria, OSA.

The National Heritage Month was officially opened on May 1 at the Almasor region (Albay, Masbate, Sorsogon) specifically in Daraga, Albay, graced by Gov. Joey Salceda, Taoid Ambassador Enchong Dee, and participated by various youth sectors.

Similar ceremonial activities were held at Sorsogon City and Masbate City on May 2 and 5, respectively.

On March 31, the NHM had a soft launching at the historic Limasawa Island in Southern Leyte, in tandem with Limasawa’s commemoration of the 493rd anniversary of the First Mass in the Philippines.

The launching of the National Heritage Month coincided with the launching of the annual Taoid National Heritage Program—a yearlong cultural intervention of NCCA with an aim of assisting local communities in the conservation of their cultural heritage treasures.

For Mindanao, the Taoid Program will be launched on June 17, 18, 19, and 20, at Jimenez, Misamis Occidental, Iligan City, Cagayan de Oro City, and Jasaan, Misamis Oriental, respectively.

The steering committee of the Taoid Heritage Program 2014 is composed of Rentoria, OSA, head of SCH and the National Committee on Archives; Dr. Stephen Totanes, vice head of SCH and head of the National Committee on Historical Research; Lucille Karen Malilong-Isberto, SCH secretary and head of the National Committee on Monuments and Sites; Dr. Marilou Tadlip, assistant secretary and head of the National Committee on Libraries and Information Service; Robert Bjorn Santos, SCH member and head of the National Committee on Art Galleries; and Amado Alvarez, SCH member and head of the National Committee on Museums.

For more information, contact NCCA-Public Affairs and Information Office (PAIO) head, Rene Sanchez Napeñas at 527-2192 or at 0928.5081057. Log on to www.ncca.gov.ph or e-mail at ncca.paio@gmail.com


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.