• Iloilo City implements force evacuation in selected villages


    ILOILO CITY: Mayor Jed Patrick Mabilog on Friday approved the evacuation of families in selected barangays because of the onslaught of Typhoon Yolanda.
    As of 12 noon, the fourth landfall of the super typhoon carrying 250 kilometers per hour wind gustiness was experienced in northern Iloilo municipalities and northern Capiz province including parts of Antique province.

    Mabilog convened the City Disaster Risk Reduction Management Council (CDRRMC) on Thursday and led the CDRRMC in monitoring the typhoon for 48 hours.

    The city has a total of 180 barangays and 21 barangays are coastal villages susceptible to storm surges, while 14 are located along the rivers and tributaries, which are prone to flooding.

    Mabilog said the affected families must seek higher and safer grounds and temporary shelter in identified evacuation centers are open to accommodate them. Emergency food and health assistance will be provided by the city government offices concerned.

    Mabilog, who ordered the suspension of classes in all levels here, told families to seek at the nearest barangay and district covered gymnasiums.

    Aside from barangay gyms and barangay halls, also offered as temporary shelters for the evacuees were public schools and the University of Iloilo-Phinma.

    The affected coastal barangays are Bitoon in Jaro district; Hinactacan, Banuyao and Ingore in La Paz district; Loboc and Bo. Obrero in Lapuz district; Gen. Hughes, Ortiz, Ma. Clara, Rizal Ibarra, Palapala 1, Palapala 2, and Rizal Estazuela in the city proper; North Baluarte, South Baluarte, Boulevard, San Juan, Calumpang and Calaparan in Molo district; and Santo Norte and Santo Nino Sur in Arevalo district.

    Barangays located along the rivers, tributaries and other danger zones prone to flooding are Ungca, Sambag, San Isidro, Tabuc Suba, Dungon B, Dungon A. Calubihan and Desamparados in Jaro district; Bakhaw and Bolilao in Madurriao district; Magsaysay Village in La Paz district; and Calajunan, Sooc, and Navais in Mandurriao district.

    Lydia C. Pendon


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.